Pasta with Mock Creamy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I altered this recipe quite a bit, but the idea of blending up some firm tofu and adding it to sauce is a great one, and one I use regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fantastic! My carnivores loved this. I made it using 100% whole wheat rotini and cooked the pasta in vegetable broth. A hearthealthy, vegetarian entree that is flavorful, robust and even better as a leftover two days later. Made it when entertaining and it was simple and didn't lock me away from the guests during preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My tofu was previously frozen, and I'm not sure if it was the 'silken' kind but it was somewhat gritty and never melded into the sauce. Also, I was skeptical of the 2 cups of stock so I only used about a cup (water + beef bouillon cube instead for more flavour) and omitted the jar of roasted red peppers as that seemed like it wouldn't add too much besides a vinegar-y taste. I love onions so I used a whole one, used okra and spinach instead of the asparagus, about four large mushrooms sliced, 4 large cloves of garlic minced and heaping teaspoon of minced fresh hot pepper. Didn't use the hot chile paste. Low sodium canned diced tomatoes. For seasoning and taste I used pepper, seasoned salt, generous dash of cinnamon, 2 bay leaves, onion & garlic powder and two packets of sweetener to cut the acidity of the tomato. I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with a bit of water to thicken, and added about 1/4 cup of Parmesan directly into the sauce. Also sour cream to fix the creaminess. I had a small container of bbq sauce in fridge and tossed that in too, as I remember someone I know adding ketchup to their sauce... Strange, I know, but it does a little 'something'. Overall with changes it was good, so I would imagine so-so without any. I'm not sure if it'll be a repeat unless I happen to have leftover tofu (doesn't mean this isn't tasty!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I love the idea, but the 2 cups of broth is WAY!! too much. Use 1/4 c., maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but did make a few changes. I used beef broth like another review had mentioned, used about 2 tbsp of garlic, instead of chili paste I added about a tsp of chili power and couple shakes of red hot, and added about a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese while it was simmering. Also, I found the sauce to watery so I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch and let it simmer for about 5-10 min. I really liked the texture and the taste. It made a lot so we froze half of the leftovers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was very good and easy! I've never cooked with tofu before and it came out great! It's a perfect way to get quick and easy protein and it is delicious, very creamy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hignites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I found this sauce to be very flavorful and unusual. After reading some reviews commenting that the sauce was missing something, I tried using beef broth instead of veggie broth. It worked - the sauce was delicious. And the bit of chili paste adds a perfect background of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wow, this was delicious! my first time using tofu, and it turned out wonderful. Like other reviewers, I just added diced tomatoes instead of the jar of peppers. Then added some veggies i had on hand, some extra spices (paprika, pepper, and red pepper flakes) and it was ready...very flavourful. It also froze and thawed well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I agree with leaving out the peppers and substituting tomatoes. Liked the cream sauce idea. I also cooked the mushrooms and onions in 1 cup veggie broth (instead of oil) until most of the liquid was gone. They added a great flavor. Will make again without the peppers. The peppers I had gave it more of a vinegar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States