Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
After reading a lot of complaints about the amount of sauce, I made some changes. I added roughly a half of can of chicken broth to the sauce. To thicken it up, I mixed a few tablespoons of flour in cold water and added that to the sauce too. I also added a LOT more parsley, doubled the garlic, and added an extra tablespoon of mustard. The white wine COMPLETELY changes this recipe. If you do not add it, expect a very vinegary mustard sauce. Anyway, I was extremely pleased with it after the changes I made. There was the perfect amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Very good. I didn't have wine so I used apple juice and used a teaspoon of dried parsley. I also didn't rinse the kraut and would definitely make this again. I may actually up the AJ a bit to make it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
So all I did was cut up and cook the kielbasa with the sour kraut and some noodles then added sour cream and milk and cayenne pepper and it was really really good! I dunno if this qualifies as the same recipe even, but that's all I had to work with. My hubby really liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wonderful flavor but too much pasta. I used mini bow-tie pasta at 8oz. (new product- Barilla) and Boars Head sauerkraut (or any other premium brand). Also,make sure sauerkraut is thoroughly rinsed and dried. The flavor can overwhelm the dish's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Used turkey kielbasa. Very delicious! Add pasta in last, as you probably won't need all of it as one writer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Added 2 10oz cans of beef broth instead of of white wine. Also added 1 TBS of brown sugar to the sauerkraut....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I wanted to make something with the sauerkraut and sausage I had on hand that was a little different. I had half a box of penne in the pantry as well. I added sour cream, milk,red pepper flakes and horseradish to make a creamy sauce. I also left out the white wine as I had none on hand. It was awesome. My boyfriend loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was delicious. The city of Linden has some really wonderful Polish stores and they have freshly made Kielbasa which is out of this world. I was looking for a new way to use it and found this recipe. It's a keeper - the only addition to this was to add some caraway seeds and thyme. The thyme was a great addition. Will make this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I changed this a bit. I left out the red pepper and added bacon. I served over mashed potatoes instead of the pasta. I also added some chedder cheese. I liked this but I think it had to much saurkraut and not enough sauce. Next time I will leave out the saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
A bit too much pasta. Will definitely make again, just half the pasta amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States