Pasta with Hot Sausage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Pretty easy and got good reviews from my DH. Too spicy for my two year old. I didn't have capers so omitted them. I also did not use spicy sausage but a milder one. Did not serve with ziti - but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was very good. It's not too spicy but just enough to give it really good flavor. My husband really liked it. I added some fresh basil and I wasn't sure what the recipe meant when it said "whole peeled potatoes, mashed, liquid reserved". I smashed the tomatoes with the liquid and added it to the sauce. You can also use a penne pasta with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
YUMMMMMM!!! Husband and kids couldn't stop raving or eating! (And let me add that spaghetti is NOT on the list of favorite meals in our house!) I made a few minor revisions based on ingredients I had on hand-- eliminated red wine and capers, used petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed, added a small can of tomato paste and a tad of sugar, used half hot sausage and half sweet. DELICIOUS!!!! This is the sauce we've been looking for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Thanks for the great idea. This was really good. Versatile basic sauce, I didn't have capers so I left them out, it was still delicious. Did not need a jar of sauce, the other ingredients were enough. Also, a good sauce even without the sausage as a vegetarian option. I will try to never use sauce from the jar again. It is so much better this way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, and my husband said it was the best sauce he'd ever had. Thanks sooooooooo much! I love to see that gleam in his eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is a wonderfully easy, delicious recipe! I followed it pretty closely, except I used turkey sausage to reduce fat and I left out the capers, because I didn't have any. I drained the whole tomatoes and then mashed them before adding to the sausage. I reduced the pepper(s) to 1/8 tsp. each because my husband is not a fan of spicy food, but the wine & spices still added plenty of flavor. I let it simmer for about an hour and it made a thick, rich sauce. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is excellent sauce. I made as directed, except for increasing the sausage by 1/3 and using half bulk and half sliced link for texture - and I used penne pasta because that's what I had. I would really recommend NOT omitting the capers or the wine - they are what makes this sauce special. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Muy delicioso.. this recipe is knockout..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and flavorful. I did use mild Italian sausage because of my kids. My 10 year old Daughter thought it was spicey but liked it. I left out the capers. Didn't have them and didn't want to buy them. Next time I will try it with turkey italian sausage and whole wheat pasta. I did use the ziti. Very good! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was delicious - I'm not a fan of capers and don't keep them around so I left those out, I don't think it mattered. It was also easy and tasted so much better then opening a jar of sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States