Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KIMBACUB
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Absolutley delicious summertime meal! I have always had a phobia of using uncooked, fresh tomatoes in a sauce but I've been converted! lol My husband loves red onions and Italian dressing so I decided to give this recipe a try. I used four beefsteak tomatoes (my plum romas were not ripe yet) that I picked from my garden and I seeded and diced them. Then I picked a big handful of basil and chopped that up. I added 1/2 cup of Good Seasons Salad dsg ( that I had made with balsamic vinegar...I noted that alot of recipes for fresh tomato sauce add balsamic vinegar so that is how I incorporated it into this one). Finally, I used angel hair because that is what I had. It is just an explosion of freshness and summer in your mouth when you eat this. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just loved this but I don't use or buy Italian dressing and I omitted the raw onion - straight olive oil and a little fresh minced garlic worked for me instead. Served this with "Grandma Bogie's Parmesan Chicken," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This is excellent. I added about 1 teaspoon of miniced garlic. This is wonderful hot, but I liked it better as a nice refreshing macaroni salad! Also would consider adding a can of olives for the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was fantastic.I made it tonight for dinner and we loved the flavor of all the mixture. I did like the other lady said about balsamic vinager. I used the bottle dressing. It was so good. I also chopped, (In my food processor) celerey, green onions & mushroom's very fine and sauteed them in olive oil and added them to the pasta and then added the chopped tomatoes. I tossed it all together with the other ingredient's while in the hot pan, and served it warm. The olive oil that it was used to cook the veggies really added to it. It was so good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was very quick, easy, and tasty. Very light for summer! I used Farfalle pasta, 6 roma tomatoes, chopped roasted red peppers and a small can of sliced black olives. I only had a handful of fresh basil, so I used that plus some dried. I skipped the onion because my family doesn't care for it. I added more grated parm than called for in the recipe. Even my picky 8 year old liked this, and my 12 year old said it was a keeper! Good warm and cold too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I had my doubts, but it worked out just fine. I made it according to the recipe and I thought the dressing was a little overpowering. I then drizzled a little olive oil on it and it was much better. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious! This is perfect for summer, when fresh tomatoes are so abundant. I used angel hair pasta and opted out the red onion. For the "Italian dressing", I kept it very, very simple and used a mix of olive oil and minced garlic. It doesn't get much better or much simpler than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I'm not sure if this is supposed to be eaten warm or cold, but I made it cold, and it was a nice light pasta salad. It's easy to make and a great way to use basil and tomatoes from a garden. I used an Italian dressing mix and just threw all the ingredients together in the bowl rather than mixing it separately, so I wound up using more dressing than the recipe called for, but it's good that way. I made the dressing with balsamic vinegar and olive oil (I'll probably reduce the oil next time to make it healthier). After tasting the salad, I added extra onion, which I feel was an improvement. I think it would also benefit from more basil and maybe some garlic as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very tasty (and EASY). Two things I look for. I did add some garlic as previously recommended, but also threw in some left over BBQ chicken (w/out the sauce) we had from the night before. That turned out to be a nice addition. This is a very nice summer dish we'll be doing again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I added parmasan plus an italian blend of cheeses. And, I added garlic and lots of italian seasoning, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes for more flavor. I used Roasted Pepper Italian Dressing - and I added fresh vegetables like broccoli, mushroom, zucchini, bell pepper and olives. Quite healthy and pretty tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States