Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just loved this but I don't use or buy Italian dressing and I omitted the raw onion - straight olive oil and a little fresh minced garlic worked for me instead. Served this with "Grandma Bogie's Parmesan Chicken," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As others have commented, it's a very easy recipe with little prep time, and it results in a very light, tasty pasta dish. It is best served with fresh ingredients (basil, tomatoes) rather than canned/dry. It's also very welcoming to modifications. I omitted the onions (personal taste), used whole wheat penne, and added some crushed red pepper. Tastes good cold or hot. Next time I will try angel hair pasta and add some cubed avocado, black olives, and garlic (maybe toasted pine nuts, too), and serve with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Like others, I used angel hair pasta and Good Season Italian dressing and made it using balsamic vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
If you're looking for a quick & easy, no nonsense meal that's tasty - look no further. I wouldn't serve it for guests though (except as a side dish) without some doctoring. For me, this is the perfect "basic" recipe to broaden my repertoire of heavy Italian/pasta dishes to include a lighter, fresher approach as the hot summer months loom. I test drove this recipe tonight with turkey Italian sausage that I browned with onions in EVOO, added sherry & reduced. Put it in a large S/S bowl & mixed in: Girard's Champagne Vinaigrette, balsamic vinegar, 6 cloves pressed garlic, plum tomatoes, more basil than recipe, and seasoned with salt & pepper before tossing with angel hair pasta. It was so yummy my family loved it! Even my picky 3 year old carnivore ate it up. Next week I'm going to make it with clams, substituting Italian dressing & tomato for a white wine & clam juice reduction with zucchini, yellow squash & red bell peppers. After that, maybe prosciutto, asparagus, and pine nuts with sun-dried tomato dressing or shrimp with Brussels sprouts and fresh pesto. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made a serving of 4 - custom changes -- Used 1 tbsp of dried basil. Added to small garlic cloves and stewed on stove to 10 - 15 mins. Used diced canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msolbe
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I too made this with angel hair pasta. I also had some leftover baked chicken that I cut up and added (2 breasts). My family really enjoyed this meal. It was extremely light yet flavorful too. My husband and I ate the rest for lunch the next day and didn't even heat it up. It was even better cold, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Quite possibly a little overkill on seasoning, none the less this is an amazing healthy choice. Like a previous poster, I added a bit of balsamic vinegar and garlic for added awesomeness. Will be making plenty of times over in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergimpman4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really nice! I was worried about the tomatoes being left in a raw state, but it was wonderful. I will definitely make this dish again. It is likely to become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Dorot chopped basil cubes made this easy for a winter carb craving. I added a touch of minced garlic, a shake of Parmesan, and some ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
It is good and very easy.....the first time I made it with basil spice, and it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States