Pasta with Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This was a nice, light, easy dinner although I made some adjustments. I took someone else's cue and added garlic prior to adding veggies and I don't think I would have liked it at all without it. I added a little more chicken broth than called for and sauteed the pasta in the skillet with all the veggies before serving to help coat the pasta and give it a nice flavor. A good suggestion as well is to add the red pepper flakes at the end of the cooking process instead as a topping...the pepper gave it a nice little kick that it wouldn't have had otherwise. Overall a decent recipe that has limitless possibilities as far as toss ins go. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This is the first time I have reviewed any recipe here but this was just excellent! I'm on a weightloss journey and I am trying to eat as low fat as possible. This recipe hits the mark. I have made it pretty much every week since trying it several months ago. I don't add the oil, I just cut up lots of mushrooms, asparagus, garlic, red pepper flakes, and throw it in the pan and cook it using as much fat free chicken broth as needed. I tried it with fat free beef broth and it's just as delicious. Once the veggies are to my liking I mix the whole pan in with the angel hair pasta. It is sooo delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe. The nice thing is that this dish goes with any type of meat you desire, or no meat at all, if you are looking for a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This was very tasty. I made a few revisions: used vegetable broth to make a vegetarian dish; I sauteed the asparagus with 2 cloves of garlic and added the crushed red pepper while the asparagus was sauteeing; I used baby portobellos (criminis); and added red bell pepper slices when I added the mushroom, which added a nice flavor and also made for a prettier color to the dish. Using whole wheat linguini increased the health quotient of this dish. A great spring dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Excellent (Italian!) dish. I had leftover asparagus so was able to skip the step of cooking it. I used spaghettini rather than angel air, added garlic but omitted the mushrooms. Freshly grated Parmesan cheese makes this stellar! Also, do save some of your pasta cooking water (it's GOLD!) and add it when you toss your pasta - not only will it prevent your pasta from sticking or getting gummy, but because of the starch it contains it will make almost a sauce or rich emulsion, even just with butter or olive oil. I like to mix up my pasta right back in the pan before I transfer it to a serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This was a very easy quick and delicious recipe. I added alot of garlic, and a little thyme, rosemary, pepper, salt and basil when I sauted the asparagus and mushrooms. I used linguine noodles instead of angel hair because that is what I had in the house. It was very good. Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. Easy and quick. I added thinly sliced chicken breast before the asparagus, 3 cloves of garlic and probably 2 or 3 tsp. crushed red pepper. I also stirred in the grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notlikeyourmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
We enjoyed this recipe, it was a great way to use our own garden-fresh asparagus. But next time, I will add garlic and leave out the crushed red pepper. I will definitely make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
excellent recipe - I cooked the asparagus a little longer and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
it was wonderful. i used it with a garlic chicken receipe and they really complimented each other well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I added 1 onion and some garlic for more flavour. It was good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon, & Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States