Pasta Shells Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are pretty good, compared to the ones I usually make with ricotta. That said, I wish those who choose to rate the recipe would rate it as is, because I, for one, rely on the average rating when deciding whether to try a recipe. I notice quite a few reviewers used ricotta, or made other substantial changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Yanno, I hate to be THAT person. You know the type. The person that changes everything up in a recipe. But I did it. I added one small onion and one garlic clove, minced and sautéed together. I also doubled up on the cottage cheese because it was just looking a little too spinach-y for me. And I'm reeeeally glad I did both of those things. It was wicked delicious, especially with a roasted red pepper/Italian sausage sauce over top. The cook time is right on, the amounts are perfect, and I'm sure it'd be just fine for some without the onion/garlic/extra cheese. The beauty of a good recipe is it's versatility, and this has it in spades. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars because it is pretty close to perfect. I made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand. I used a little less mozzarella cheese than called for, fat free cottage cheese instead of low fat, and about 2/3 spinach and 1/3 bok choy leaves because I had that left over from a recipe from earlier this week. I may amp up future spaghetti sauce I use with meat and more veggies. Overall, it came out quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was really good. I used skim milk ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I also added a little minced garlic. Make sure your spinach is drained really well or it will be watery. I usually just squeeze mine in some paper towels or a cloth. I served this with Baked Chicken Nuggets from this site and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Definitely a first for me but they came out really well and my boyfriend loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I substituted skim ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese and used the whole egg. I cut down a little on the Italian seasoning and added some sauted garlic and onions to the cheese mixture. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was really good and I felt like I was eating healthy. I didn't realize you weren't supposed to put sauce in the shell mixture so it was really saucy but still good. I will know for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I chickened out and used part skim ricotta instead of the cottage cheese. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Use a meat spaghetti sauce to satisfy by meat-lovin' boyfriend. Delicious! Enjoyed the leftovers even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Too much flavor of the italian seasoning. I would recommend cutting it in half next time. Also needed a little kick so I added some cayenne pepper which made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I used fresh spinach and basil. I also added crushed garlic to the cottage cheese. I stuffed manicotti instead of shells and topped it with homemade marinara sauce. Great idea but def needed a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States