Pasta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
FABULOUS! I skipped the bacon and added 1.5 lb of cooked Italian sausage. I cut the oil back to 1/4 c and added 1/4 c. butter. I used seasoned diced tomatoes and 1/4 each of green and black olives - oh I also added a pkg of fresh mushrooms at the end. I put everything in a casserole for a get-together a few hours later and reheated in oven with Asiago cheese on top. Be generous with the flat leaf parsley, garlic and crushed red pepper! Got rave reviews! I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good. I added extra bacon and cut down on the oil. Like another reviewer said, be generous with the red pepper, garlic and parsley (and the capers too!). I added mushrooms to mine as well, but don't think I'll do that next time even though I really like mushrooms...they didn't seem to "fit". I may add chicken though, and extra parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
With a few modifications, this turned out to be soooo good. I emptied the bacon fat out of the pan but didn't clean the pan. Instead of olive oil, I cooked ONE medium onion in the remaining grease. While cooking the onion, garlic, tomatoes, peppers and parsley, I added a touch of olive oil to the mix. Instead of using all plum tomatoes, I used one can of tomato paste (add water to desired consistency) and one 14 ounce can of whole chopped tomatoes. I added more garlic and parsley than was called for and substitued the red pepper for yellow. I chose green olives and fusilli pasta... seriously great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
An easy meal and a popular one in my house. I added cubed sauteéd chicken seasoned with garlic, salt and parika to make it a full meal. I used a little of the bacon grease and added olive oil to it for the onion; and after draining the pasta, I salted it lightly and tossed it with olive oil and basil before adding it to the mixture, so that some seaoning made its way into the grooves of the rotini. Also used fresh, very ripe tomatoes instead of canned ones. Next time I'll use Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManisera
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Delish! I forgot to add the bell pepper, and I topped with a italian cheese blend. I think I may add just a bit more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Yum! I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and drained the bacon grease, and I also didn't add the olives and capers (because of personal preference). Don't be afraid to really cook the bacon, because simmering it in the tomato sauce will soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup, and used 1 lb turkey sausage instead of bacon. I've made with both black & green olives vs black olives & capers. Both are great! And don't be afraid to use the full amount of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a keeper! It takes very little prep work other than roughly chopping veggies, contains staples I usually have on hand anyway, and the smell of the bacon and tomatoes cooking is heavenly! I emptied the bacon grease to cut down on the fat but didn't clean the pan our before cooking the onions to keep some additional flavor. I also added a splash of red wine to make the flavor a little heartier and mushrooms for more texture. We were out of Parmesan, and it's just great even without cheese. My husband, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, loved this and had seconds (and he's on a diet!) I advise against using spaghetti noodles...the rotini or fusili make it easier to get the veggies and pasta together in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlichnerowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I omitted the olives since my husband doesn't like them, but this was a fantastic recipe! Delicious and quick! I also doubled the red pepper flakes, for a nice and spicy dish! Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yum! This is very easy--only prep is chopping veggies. I rarely make bacon for any other reason than eating it for breakfast or BLTs, and so I usually have a Costco sized bag of real crumbled bacon in the fridge. I just used that for this dish so didn't go through the whole bacon frying for this. I added a can of mushrooms for the bf, and used both green and black olives. If I'd made this just for me, I'd have upped the capers (I LOVE them!) but since bf is indifferent to them, I left as is, and he felt it was fine. I like the flavors in this, and it was a good place for me to use some of our tomatoes (we have a bunch I'm worried will go bad, so I chopped those and used a 14.5 can of tomatoes with them). Very easy and quick; don't let the long list of ingredients fool you. You can sub in this easily--and add or subtract ingredients to your heart's content. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States