Pasta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
No need to carefully measure ingredients here, just add to your taste bud's content--that's the beauty and fun of true cooking! I prepared this pretty much as directed using a good brand of canned San Marzano tomatoes (the best!) and added a glug of Chianti to the sauce. The aroma was mmmm, so good, and the dish itself was delicious, flavorful and the perfect accompaniment to the "Grilled Marinated Shrimp" I served with it. As an Italian gal used to Italian cooking and food, I can tell you this combination of typical Italian ingredients is pretty good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was EXCELLENT! This had so many great flavors going on and everything went well together. Wonderful blend of textures too. I used the bacon grease and a splash of olive oil to sautee the onions, peppers, and garlic in. I used sun dried tomatoes instead. I cut this down to a couple of servings and it came out perfectly. I highly recommend this dish, it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
this dish was so good and so easy to prepare. i didn't bother with cleaning the skillet after frying the bacon...i just used the bacon grease and threw the rest of the ingredients in the same skillet. i also added basil and a splash of dry white wine and omitted the bell pepper (not a favorite here). i didn't even bother measuring the ingredients...this is pretty much a no-fail recipe. i tossed the sauce with angel hair pasta and it was simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a keeper! It takes very little prep work other than roughly chopping veggies, contains staples I usually have on hand anyway, and the smell of the bacon and tomatoes cooking is heavenly! I emptied the bacon grease to cut down on the fat but didn't clean the pan our before cooking the onions to keep some additional flavor. I also added a splash of red wine to make the flavor a little heartier and mushrooms for more texture. We were out of Parmesan, and it's just great even without cheese. My husband, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, loved this and had seconds (and he's on a diet!) I advise against using spaghetti noodles...the rotini or fusili make it easier to get the veggies and pasta together in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy McElhaney Lichnerowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This dish was alright. I thought it would be better as it had capers and olives, two of my favorites. However, it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup, and used 1 lb turkey sausage instead of bacon. I've made with both black & green olives vs black olives & capers. Both are great! And don't be afraid to use the full amount of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was good, follow the ingredients but didn't measure. Next time I will leave out the bacon as it got a bit soggy and I didn't like the texture, however, liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
FABULOUS! I skipped the bacon and added 1.5 lb of cooked Italian sausage. I cut the oil back to 1/4 c and added 1/4 c. butter. I used seasoned diced tomatoes and 1/4 each of green and black olives - oh I also added a pkg of fresh mushrooms at the end. I put everything in a casserole for a get-together a few hours later and reheated in oven with Asiago cheese on top. Be generous with the flat leaf parsley, garlic and crushed red pepper! Got rave reviews! I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Delish! I forgot to add the bell pepper, and I topped with a italian cheese blend. I think I may add just a bit more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Yum! I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and drained the bacon grease, and I also didn't add the olives and capers (because of personal preference). Don't be afraid to really cook the bacon, because simmering it in the tomato sauce will soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States