Pasta Rustica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This dish was alright. I thought it would be better as it had capers and olives, two of my favorites. However, it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
FABULOUS! I skipped the bacon and added 1.5 lb of cooked Italian sausage. I cut the oil back to 1/4 c and added 1/4 c. butter. I used seasoned diced tomatoes and 1/4 each of green and black olives - oh I also added a pkg of fresh mushrooms at the end. I put everything in a casserole for a get-together a few hours later and reheated in oven with Asiago cheese on top. Be generous with the flat leaf parsley, garlic and crushed red pepper! Got rave reviews! I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good. I added extra bacon and cut down on the oil. Like another reviewer said, be generous with the red pepper, garlic and parsley (and the capers too!). I added mushrooms to mine as well, but don't think I'll do that next time even though I really like mushrooms...they didn't seem to "fit". I may add chicken though, and extra parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
With a few modifications, this turned out to be soooo good. I emptied the bacon fat out of the pan but didn't clean the pan. Instead of olive oil, I cooked ONE medium onion in the remaining grease. While cooking the onion, garlic, tomatoes, peppers and parsley, I added a touch of olive oil to the mix. Instead of using all plum tomatoes, I used one can of tomato paste (add water to desired consistency) and one 14 ounce can of whole chopped tomatoes. I added more garlic and parsley than was called for and substitued the red pepper for yellow. I chose green olives and fusilli pasta... seriously great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
An easy meal and a popular one in my house. I added cubed sauteéd chicken seasoned with garlic, salt and parika to make it a full meal. I used a little of the bacon grease and added olive oil to it for the onion; and after draining the pasta, I salted it lightly and tossed it with olive oil and basil before adding it to the mixture, so that some seaoning made its way into the grooves of the rotini. Also used fresh, very ripe tomatoes instead of canned ones. Next time I'll use Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManisera
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This was okay, but wasn't really good enough to me to deserve five stars. I've tried other pasta recipes on this site that I like better, so even though this dish was alright, I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe, but I did cut the amount of onion in half. While we both like onions, two seemed like it would be too much. I certainly wouldn't make this often due to the fat content from the bacon, but it was a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Delish! I forgot to add the bell pepper, and I topped with a italian cheese blend. I think I may add just a bit more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
It was good. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Yum! I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and drained the bacon grease, and I also didn't add the olives and capers (because of personal preference). Don't be afraid to really cook the bacon, because simmering it in the tomato sauce will soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States