Pasta Primavera Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Very easy and quick to make. Loved the fact that I could enjoy my fresh veggies yet let dinner cook while I relaxed with a glass of wine with my husband. I'm not used to a tomato-based primavera sauce though so to me it was more like a garden vegetable marinara type of sauce. It was very flavorful and we will have it again. I used vegetable broth instead of just water. Also, we prefer our broccoli to be a little crisper, and not quite as cooked through, so next time I'll add it toward the end - perhaps the last 5-7 minutes so it will have that nice fresh green color to it and fresher taste. Thanks for contributing the recipe. Went great with a salad and sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Excellent. We always serve this to guests, especially vegetarians. We find that it's best to add the broccoli in the last 15-20 minutes of cooking so it isn't overdone. We have made it with tomato sauce instead of tomato paste and it works well, although it is a bit runnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe was incredibly bland. If I made this again, I would not cook the veggies for as long as directed since they all turned into much at about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Because I prefer fresh vegetables crispy, I sauteed the veggies instead of simmering them. I think that sautéing is a far better way to blend flavors and retain the freshness. I've tried the recipe both ways and there's no comparison between the two cooking methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Great sauce, though, I didn't realize from reading the reviews how spicy it would be. It might be useful to go easy with the spices/herbs and then adjust to taste. A great alternative to a meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I doubled the recipe for company, adding extra tomatoes as others suggested for a more tomato sauce texture--and it was great!. I cooked it in the crockpot on LO for 4.5 hours while we were at church, and when we came home it was perfect! A great recipe for adding more or less variety of vegetables too. I also used the leftover sauce to make pizza. The sauce is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I'm a vegetarian with a carnivorous husband and children. It's SO hard for me to find recipes that will satisfy us all. So when I made this for my family, I didn't mention the fact that it was vegetarian. Everyone loved it! I was so delighted when everyone went back for seconds. This has become our "Friday night Spaghetti Dinner" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is good. But It's pretty much marinara with veggies. Not complaining though. Using the rest tonight on stuffed shells (and I'm not a big leftover fan so that means it was good). The only thing that I'll do differently next time is use less peppers. They seem to overpower the other veggies. Still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
sooo good! I used broccoli, zuchinni, yellow squash, carrots, and onion. It kept in my fridge for a few days, and I didn't get tired of heating it up and eating it for lunch AND dinner every day that week! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to ALL! Especially us vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I made this sauce and used it over spaghetti squash. It was really good! I really like all the vegetables in it. I made a few changes - didn't use the bell peppers (didn't have any), added a little parmesan cheese, no zuchinni (I had the other squash), and fresh tomato and basil (right from the garden!). I don't measure things, so I probably fudged on some other things to, but basically the recipe is very good. I thought that the taste was pretty sweet - the carrots add a lot of that. Mine wasn't very saucey (which I liked), but that might be because I used a fresh tomato. I made only one serving, so my cooking time was shorter and I didn't have to cut up so many vegetables. The recipe does take some time, but I think that it is worth it if you are not in a rush. Plus, you might be able to keep it in a container for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States