Pasta Pomodoro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Absolutely awesome! I honestly wouldn't bother making this recipe if I didn't have fresh tomatoes. I don't think canned tomatoes would do this justice. If your grocery store/sam's club/costco sells them, I would only use Campari tomatoes and they carry these all year long so you can enjoy this amazing "summer-like" dish even in January as I did! I used 16 oz of spaghetti, 2.5 cups diced fresh tomatoes, 1/8 cup of olive oil, 5 small shallot (instead of onions) and 8 cloves of garlic. I also increased the balsamic vinegar to 3 T (because we LOVE it!) and used a 1/2 cup of dry white wine in place of the chicken broth. I added a pound of shrimp (which I cooked in this sauce as it simmered) because my husband doesn't feel pasta without some form of meat and seafood is truly a meal. I think it would be just as good without the shrimp but the shrimp didn't detract from it at all. Fresh Parmesan is a must for this recipe. My 3.5 year old and my 21 month old DEVOURED this recipe! 4 thumbs up from us!! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very yummy and light. I used 1/2 chk broth and half white wine. Also used a can of diced tomatoes with italian seasonings as other suggested. I halved the amount of pasta stated. Put the cracked black pepper and crused red pepper on the table so each person can add it to their personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I somewhat doubled the sauce and only used one box of angel hair pasta because I like everything I eat to be very saucy. With the changes I made it came out more the way I like it. I used 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/2 onion, 8 coves garlic, 5 cups chopped fresh roma tomatoes, 3 T balsamic vinegar, 4 cups broth, 2 T fresh basil, and added 1/2 cup cabernet sauvignon and some sea salt. I think it could've used a little more wine and maybe a touch more sea salt. The balsamic vinegar gives it a really good flavor. It's a very light, fresh-tasing dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Oh my goodness! This is so simple and so delicious! I thought it would be bland because of the few ingredients, but I was so wrong. I followed the recipe, but I also took into consideration the other reviews. As stated, the original recipe requires way too much pasta. I completely omitted the chicken broth due to concerns of too much liquid. Instead I used a bouillon cube and it easily dissolved in the juice released by the tomatoes. I also added shrimp as suggested by the submitter of this recipe. I don't think I needed the cheese really because this flavor really stands out on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Absolutley delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe. So easy to make and the flavors of the ingredients were so complimentary of each other. The only change I made was that instead of using canned chicken broth I made my own using Better than Boullion. I made as a side dish for dinner but am looking forward to serving it with grilled shrimp or chicken soon for a main course. I will definitely make this recipe again and again!! I also found that this recipe is delicous served cold, especially after allowing the flavors to "marry" overnight. I almost prefer it cold now as to serving it warm, especially during warm summer evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was wonderful & different. I sauteed 2 chicken breasts with the garlic & onions, and also added a sliced zucchini. I used about 1/2 the amount of pasta called for (I used linguini - all I had on hand), and used 1/2 chicken broth & 1/2 white wine. Light, fresh and perfect for summer! Will be making again, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I guess since I just finished my 3rd helping; this gets a hearty 2 thumbs up from me!! What a great simple weeknight meal w/ingredients readily on hand. This will def become a staple at our house. I followed the recipe pretty much, except I didn't measure the onion (1/2 of a container of pre-diced), used a little more bottled minced garlic than called for, and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes (liquid drained). Next time I will probably use a little less than a full can of chicken broth and slightly less vinegar. I might try adding some spinach for some extra nutrients. Thanks! UPDATE: I made using baby spinach leaves (let them wilt in simmering mixture towards the end of simmer time) and it was a great way to make the dish a little more nutrient-dense. Thanks, again, for a great weeknight meal in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I have made this recipes many times. i use fresh tomatoes in the summer and add red wine. I also use lots of fresh grated romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I'm in school, so I don't have time to cook (nor do I cook extremely well), so I bought diced tomatos in a can, garlic that was already minced, and dried basil, and still the meal turned out great. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I'll admit I was very skeptical as I was making this...but it turned out wonderfully! I gave only 4 stars because I think that a pepper amount should be given for first timers to go by, instead of "to taste." I made some changes to accomodate my eating habits, namely I did not use any oil. Only a quick squirt of non-stick spray. I only used 8 oz of chicken broth. I also added a tsp of Splenda to accentuate the sweetness of the basil. I served this with spaghetti squash instead of pasta, it was awesome! I also topped it off with tofu chunks that I marinated in italian dressing and chicken bouillon granules and pan fried. Will definately have this again, probably with chicken, as the tofu and spaghetti squash together made for great taste but to much "mush."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States