Pasta Pomodoro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Wow! I made this with what I could find in my kitchen (which wasn't much), and it was awesome! I used half the pasta called for, the garlic, one can of rotel tomatoes with the juice, balsamic vinegar, one small can of chicken broth, dehydrated onion, a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and fresh ground black pepper. Also used dried parsley, and reserved a bit of the pasta water in case it was needed and also added that. Some parmesan cheese and it was flavorful and spicy! Can't wait to get to the store to make the recipe as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very tasty - nice light sauce. Good base for additional herbs and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These recipe is so easy to cook. I have cooked it twice, I cooked it once with the original recipe. My boyfriend loves spicy foods so this second time I added red pepper flakes and substituted the roma tomatoes, with S&W ready-cut Italian Recipe with garlic oregano and basil. And left out the 2 TBS of basil, kept the 4 cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking.guru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Amazing! Definitely use a good quality balsamic vinegar, bc that is what makes this dish. My only comments are that I prefer more sauce and less pasta, so I'd double the sauce next time, and that olives or capers would be lovely with this dish--but then that would probably make in a puttanesca instead. I didn't know where my parmesan cheese went, so I left it out and didn't really miss it. I'm sure it would add to it, but you really don't have to have it in this for it to work. Thanks for the recipe; I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Not Bad, not bad at all. I discovered I didn't have angel hair so I used macaroni noodles instead. It turned out pretty well though. In addition to the parm, I also added some shredded motz which gave it a little more of a cheesy texture, and I absolutely loved the blend of the balsamic and tomatoes so I added a dash more vinegar. Delicious! Even If my kids didn't really care for this, both my husband and myself enjoyed it tremendously. The only thing I think I'll change, is next time, I'll take DEBNJAMES' advice and add some chicken to the mix, yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Not that good. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Added chicken and loved the light, tangy flavor of it all. mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I've made this a few times, just getting around to reviewing it. It's awesome! Easy comes together pretty quickly, and so yummy. Even when the dish is done and plated, it doesn't look like much and you kinda expect it be "ehh alright", but then you eat it and it's soooo good. I never have fresh basil but dried works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This recipe is awesome!! I add a pound (or sometimes 2 pounds) of peeled, cleaned raw shrimp at last step and it just bumps up a really great recipe to a wonderful and complete meal for company. Add crusty bread, a salad and you have a really really nice meal to entertain with...for guests or the family. eNJOY! We did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I definitely agree that the pasta-to-sauce ratio is way off. I tried this with the sauce recipe doubled, substituting half of the chicken broth with Chardonnay. After letting the sauce simmer for about 10-15 minutes, it tasted excellent, but that disappeared completely when I added the pasta (full 16 oz). The result, even with salt, red/black pepper, and parmesan cheese, was extremely bland. Granted, I'm was dealing with out-of-season tomatoes, but the flavor just didn't carry. Maybe the sauce needed less liquid/more time to reduce. I'm tempted to try it again because of the flavor of the sauce pre-pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States