Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The first time we tried the recipe it was great but needed some extra help. We replaced the bacon with ½-pound Italian sausage cooked and finely chopped in a food processor. We added ¼ cup diced onions and 1 more cup of water. We found during first time, after adding the pasta, the soup was bit too thick. We also halved the salt (½ and ¼ teaspoon), because after adding cheese, we found it a little salty. We also substituted pasta with whole-wheat elbows. The recipe was a 5 star to start, the 2nd time we made it with these modifications we needed 6th star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Overall this was great soup...very close to Olive Garden..I substituted the bacon (why bacon??)for Italian sausage which was much better. I also omitted the salt..didn't need it at all. Next time I will cut down on garlic...whoaaa! 1/8 of a teaspoon of garlic powder is equal to 1 clove..and this recipe totalled 9 cloves! No one came near me for days! Update-use fresh spinach and add at the end. Also, use cannellini beans instead of northern. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
EXCELLENT! Thanks for a great recipe. My husband had been asking for this for a while but doesn't like the kind of Fagioli that is too tomatoee. This one was perfect. Used frozen spinach and added a little olive oil, chopped onions and Italian Seasoning. Will make it again, especially on cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipe is FANTASTIC. To "kick it up a notch" I use crumbled hot italian sausage in place of the bacon, add a dash or two of crushed red pepper, include the liquid from the spinach, and use one of those "Natural Goodness" boxes of chicken broth. The seashells tend to asborb a lot of the liquid after sitting for a while, so I like to use the small shells, and fewer than 1/2 the bag. I get rave reviews on this ALL THE TIME and it is some of my friend's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
EXCELLENT! I did saute some chopped onions and a stalk of celery with the minced garlic before hand. It really made a difference! I didn't have a 29 oz. can of diced tomatoes so I just used one can of 14.5oz of the "petite diced" tomatoes. It doesn't need 8 slices of bacon, it gave it a great smoky flavor with 3 or 4. It turned out fabulous!! Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
My dinner guests loved this soup! I did use frozen chopped spinach instead of canned. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Not sure quite how to rate this, 'cause I did make quite a few changes based on other reviews and my own preferences, but the soup I ended up with was AWESOME! I began by sauteeing 1/2 an onion and celery in about 2 tsp of olive oil in my Dutch oven. Once the veggies were tender, I added the 2 cans of undrained beans, 6 cups of chicken broth, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 cup of water, 2 tsp of minced garlic and the spices... although I cut back to 1/2 tsp of salt since I used more broth, and also added 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. While simmering for the 40 minutes, I sauteed 1 lb hot turkey italian sausage (removed from casings) and then drained the excess grease. Once the soup was done simmering, I added a package of FRESH spinach and it wilted within a couple minutes, and then stirred in the sausage. I added about 1.5 cups of whole wheat elbows and simmered for another 5 minutes, then removed from heat, so they gradually cook the rest of the way while the soup cooled. I added fresh parmesan and fresh cracked pepper to each serving and it was one of the best soups I've ever had! Thanks for the jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I didn't read the reviews before I made this, and wished I had. When I make this again, I plan to reduce the tomatoes/tomato sauce, the salt/garlic, and use crumbled sausage. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was very impressive. I used a 14.5 oz can of toms., frozen spinach and only 1 cup of dry pasta. I didn't have regular bacon but had Wright's ends and pieces, used for seasoning. I cooked the pieces then picked off the meaty parts. I tied the fat into a piece of cheesecloth and added it back to the pot for more flavor. This will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Wow! This is soo good. My husband and I ate it for DAYS. I only used 3 slices of bacon and sauted it with a chopped onion as the first step in the process. I think that the next time I make this, I'll fry the bacon until crisp as suggested. It makes a lot, and goes well with a good crusty bread and wine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States