Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I had high hopes for this recipe based on the reviews and was disappointed. I felt the soup was too liquidy and tomato-ey. Next time I would only use a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes rather than the 29 oz. it called for. I also only used large seashell pasta as thats what I had on hand and perhaps it would have been better with smaller pasta. I think I will stick to my tradional way of making pasta fagioli. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipe is FANTASTIC. To "kick it up a notch" I use crumbled hot italian sausage in place of the bacon, add a dash or two of crushed red pepper, include the liquid from the spinach, and use one of those "Natural Goodness" boxes of chicken broth. The seashells tend to asborb a lot of the liquid after sitting for a while, so I like to use the small shells, and fewer than 1/2 the bag. I get rave reviews on this ALL THE TIME and it is some of my friend's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I thought my pasta fagioli was really good but this recipe is even more flavorful and delicious. My whole family of 6 gobbled it up. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
We used 1/4# prosciutto ham in place of the bacon and replaced the parsley and basil with 3tsp Herbs de Provonce. An outstanding soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This was wonderful! I used turkey bacon, low sodium chicken broth, and ditali pasta. I don't think the extra salt is necessary, unless you like a very salty soup. My husband loved this recipe. We are trying to eat soup once a week, and this one will be in our rotation. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I really liked this- I made a big batch for lunches all week. I added a bunch of spinach, two small zucchinis and a couple carrots. I also added more shells than it called for, which made it a little dry so I added another can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
A very wonderful and hearty soup Angela! I replaced the water with more chicken broth, added carrots, green beans and celery and even threw in chorizo sausage that I found in the freezer. We're a soup lovin' family and this recipe was no disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Very good I loved it. My wife doesn't like spinich so she did not care for it. Oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Pretty easy to make and was great the next day. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this soup for my fiancee a few days ago.. and he LOVED IT!! He hates leftovers, but had it the next day for lunch- then asked me to make it again. It was very very yummy. A BIG hit at my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States