Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! I used Italian Sausage and Chorizo instead of Bacon though. And I accidently cooked the pasta too long which thickened the soup quite a bit. So keep and eye on the timer ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMUIGIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The first time we tried the recipe it was great but needed some extra help. We replaced the bacon with ½-pound Italian sausage cooked and finely chopped in a food processor. We added ¼ cup diced onions and 1 more cup of water. We found during first time, after adding the pasta, the soup was bit too thick. We also halved the salt (½ and ¼ teaspoon), because after adding cheese, we found it a little salty. We also substituted pasta with whole-wheat elbows. The recipe was a 5 star to start, the 2nd time we made it with these modifications we needed 6th star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is a great soup! I only make a half batch at a time. I have also made it without the pasta and extra beans; my husband actually prefers it this way. Super simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
recipe calls for way too many noodles and too much bacon; besides, italian suasage is probably a better choice. but the flavor is great -- try adding celery, different beans, carrots -- a good recipe to build on and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Angela - great soup! My husband and I made this last night, and couldn't wait to have it for lunch today. I wasn't sure whether he'd like it - he typically isn't interested in something with a lot of canned ingredients. So, I added frozen spinach instead of canned, and he added a large onion, some Lea & Perrin, and a bay leaf. We'll definitely have it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Great basic recipe! I modified it a bit, though. I used spicy italian sausage(removed from casings) that I browned with half an onion before adding it to the soup. I also used a large bunch of fresh spinach instead of canned. The soup thickened a great deal on the second day of reheating. I will use much smaller pasta next time, though, because after re-heating, the pasta broke down quite a bit. Very good, though. I served it with fresh baked bread and grated grana padana cheese. Wonderful for a snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This soup was great! Following the advice of some others, I only added one can of diced tomatoes and about 1/2 the bacon and no additional salt. I also used one can of cannelline and one great northern bean and added some carrots. After the addition of the pasta, I used ditalini, it really thickened, so I added another can of broth and a small can of tomato sauce...it makes alot and is delicious when topped with the grated cheese! I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I had high hopes for this recipe based on the reviews and was disappointed. I felt the soup was too liquidy and tomato-ey. Next time I would only use a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes rather than the 29 oz. it called for. I also only used large seashell pasta as thats what I had on hand and perhaps it would have been better with smaller pasta. I think I will stick to my tradional way of making pasta fagioli. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipe is FANTASTIC. To "kick it up a notch" I use crumbled hot italian sausage in place of the bacon, add a dash or two of crushed red pepper, include the liquid from the spinach, and use one of those "Natural Goodness" boxes of chicken broth. The seashells tend to asborb a lot of the liquid after sitting for a while, so I like to use the small shells, and fewer than 1/2 the bag. I get rave reviews on this ALL THE TIME and it is some of my friend's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I thought my pasta fagioli was really good but this recipe is even more flavorful and delicious. My whole family of 6 gobbled it up. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States