Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very good soup! I used ground pork instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I love this soup; it is exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This s a great recipe but quite salty. next time I will omit the extra salt all together. I used spicy Turkey sausage instead of bacon and it was perfect. This is also quite a bit thicker than a soup - more like a stew, but wonderful - serve it Olive Garden style with breadsticks and a great little side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this soup, with a few changes, and it is great. Instead of bacon, I sauteed the garlic with a mix of turkey and lean ground beef...not much, probably between 1/4 and 1/2 lb. Then I added all of the ingredients, except for the basil. I boiled the pasta separately and add it separately. This allows the soup to not get so thick, especially for the leftovers. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is the closest to how my mom made it when I was a kid! I modified it slightly(used soy bacon and veggie broth) to become vegan for a friend of mine and it still came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was wonderful soap. I made this for my Mom who will soon be 93. I need to be sure she eats healthy. She loved it. My sister-in-law and brother-in-law also thought it was great. I still have some in my freezer. I will take it out in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Love, love, love this recipie. It is fast, easy and the results are fantastic!!! That being said, I did make some major changes mostly to reduce the level of fat and salt, so I could feel a little better about serving it to my family. Sauteed and onion and 2 cloves fresh garlic in a dutch oven. Then added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup finely chopped turkey smoked sausage to pan. Added diced tomatoes, 1 can great northern beans and 1 can navy beans (rinsed and drained, to reduce the salt),1 - 2 cups fresh spinach, 2 cans chicken broth, tomato sauce, fresh parsley, salt, pepper and fresh basil if I have it, if not then I use 1 teaspoon of basil. Simmered for approximately 40 minutes, then added the pasta at the end, but not as much and the submitter recommended, maybe about 1/4 - 1/2 cup cooked pasta... I like ditalini. Anyways really great topped with parmesian cheese. I also like to add a couple of cups of cooked, diced chicken breast to the ingredients as they simmer as it makes the meal heartier... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this for my Bunco group of 11 women. While I tried to do it right, of course, I botched it up! However, they all loved it! I used my crockpot and started it early in the day... put the pasta in too early so it got mushy - oh well. Forgot to put the spinach in (I bought fresh) but it still ended up okay. I added fresh garlic (lots) and onions and then added more garlic and seasoning as it cooked. It was quite tasty and the ladies loved it - mushy pasta and all! Thanks for this one - husband also said to put it into rotation - without the spinach for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Overall a good soup. Needs a little something more though. Good for a quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
A very nice recipe that has plenty of room for adjustments and personal tastes. I used fresh spinach and added a can of peas. Didin't want to use bacon so I browned chunks of mild italian sausage instead. Yum! I also chopped 1/4 of a vidalia onion, used fresh parsley and threw in a little sugar and crushed red pepper. I felt like the soup lacked richness so I poured in a little olive oil and right at the end tossed in about 1 Tbsp. butter. Served it with grated parmesan cheese and "Whole Wheat Beer Bread" from this site. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States