Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
In order to make this recipe even healthier, I replaced the bacon with clams, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and used fresh parsley and spinach instead of canned or frozen. We like "fusion" dining so we ate it with Mexican oven-baked corn tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I printed this out over a year ago and have used it so often i can make it blindfolded and my kids won't eat it anymore! LOL So after a long break i'm making a couple changes and trying it again. i've never used the bacon or the tomato sauce -- just don't have them on hand normally. they object to spinach (in the past i've used frozen chopped), so this time i substituted carrots and celery. i do have some fresh spinach that i'll add to mine! we're using tortellini as the pasta, and i'm making it in the crockpot. undecided as to whether i should eliminate the water, cook the tortellini separately and add at the end, or toss it all in there together. i usually do the pasta separately as it tends to get stew-y after sitting together overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Loved this super easy delicious recipe! Followed the directions exactly and it was super terrific! As someone else mentioned serve this with the Whole Wheat Beer Bread and it's a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very good soup! I used ground pork instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I love this soup; it is exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This s a great recipe but quite salty. next time I will omit the extra salt all together. I used spicy Turkey sausage instead of bacon and it was perfect. This is also quite a bit thicker than a soup - more like a stew, but wonderful - serve it Olive Garden style with breadsticks and a great little side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this soup, with a few changes, and it is great. Instead of bacon, I sauteed the garlic with a mix of turkey and lean ground beef...not much, probably between 1/4 and 1/2 lb. Then I added all of the ingredients, except for the basil. I boiled the pasta separately and add it separately. This allows the soup to not get so thick, especially for the leftovers. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is the closest to how my mom made it when I was a kid! I modified it slightly(used soy bacon and veggie broth) to become vegan for a friend of mine and it still came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was wonderful soap. I made this for my Mom who will soon be 93. I need to be sure she eats healthy. She loved it. My sister-in-law and brother-in-law also thought it was great. I still have some in my freezer. I will take it out in a couple of weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Love, love, love this recipie. It is fast, easy and the results are fantastic!!! That being said, I did make some major changes mostly to reduce the level of fat and salt, so I could feel a little better about serving it to my family. Sauteed and onion and 2 cloves fresh garlic in a dutch oven. Then added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup finely chopped turkey smoked sausage to pan. Added diced tomatoes, 1 can great northern beans and 1 can navy beans (rinsed and drained, to reduce the salt),1 - 2 cups fresh spinach, 2 cans chicken broth, tomato sauce, fresh parsley, salt, pepper and fresh basil if I have it, if not then I use 1 teaspoon of basil. Simmered for approximately 40 minutes, then added the pasta at the end, but not as much and the submitter recommended, maybe about 1/4 - 1/2 cup cooked pasta... I like ditalini. Anyways really great topped with parmesian cheese. I also like to add a couple of cups of cooked, diced chicken breast to the ingredients as they simmer as it makes the meal heartier... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama

Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States