Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe. I omitted the bacon and used ground Italian sausage instead. I also used fresh spinach and beef broth, rather than chicken broth. This is a delicious, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tameeka L Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I don't usually rate recipes but this is so quick and delicious. The only changes I made were to saute 1/2 chopped onion, 6 cloves minced fresh garlic (we love it) and about 1.5 lbs of crumbled italian sausage in stockpot before adding rest of ingredients. I also used ditalini instead of shells, which I cooked separately to cut down on the starch. I will need to add more chicken stock to it today, since it thickened up quite a bit. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't have regular tomato sauce so Iused a tomato cream jarred sauce. It actually made the soup taste creamier and added more of a tomato flavor. I also left out the bacon to cut back on the fat. Never missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COREENIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Fantastic! I subbed turkey bacon and frozen spinach. I also used whole wheat pasta. Will definitely make again, it was so easy too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Perfection!!! We loved every bite of it! The only changes I made was that I used 10 oz of frozen spinach and added it toward the end and used turkey Italian sausage instead of bacon. Next time, I may parboil the pasta so the soup does not get so thick. Great with crusty bread and a salad. This one will be on our menu often. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Oh YUM!!! I used a bit extra bacon and cooked the soup down so the flavors were a little stronger...way better than the Olive Garden soup which I remember as being pretty bland. Thank you for this recipe! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I was nervous to try this recipe, thinking my boyfriend wouldn't like it. Boy, was I wrong, this is awesome. Great flavor. I did use italian sausage instead of bacon like other users suggested, you definately need to add more water because the noodles soak up alot, and I added an onion because I had extra around the house - not sure if that changed the flavor much or not. Also I didn't have minced garlic so I left that out, it had enough garlic with the garlic powder. Definately will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
In order to make this recipe even healthier, I replaced the bacon with clams, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and used fresh parsley and spinach instead of canned or frozen. We like "fusion" dining so we ate it with Mexican oven-baked corn tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I printed this out over a year ago and have used it so often i can make it blindfolded and my kids won't eat it anymore! LOL So after a long break i'm making a couple changes and trying it again. i've never used the bacon or the tomato sauce -- just don't have them on hand normally. they object to spinach (in the past i've used frozen chopped), so this time i substituted carrots and celery. i do have some fresh spinach that i'll add to mine! we're using tortellini as the pasta, and i'm making it in the crockpot. undecided as to whether i should eliminate the water, cook the tortellini separately and add at the end, or toss it all in there together. i usually do the pasta separately as it tends to get stew-y after sitting together overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Loved this super easy delicious recipe! Followed the directions exactly and it was super terrific! As someone else mentioned serve this with the Whole Wheat Beer Bread and it's a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States