Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delicious! The hubs and all 5 kids loved this soup. They even ate the spinach! I used Italian sausage instead of bacon, but would definitely make it with bacon if I had it. It would be good either way. It would even be good if you made it vegetarian and didn't put any meat in it at all. The only thing I would change is not to add the salt. But that is just a personal preference. The canned chicken broth would have made the soup salty enough for me (and I used low sodium), but my kids liked it just the way it was. Next time I will leave the extra salt out and let them add their own. The recipe also made A LOT of soup! I almost cut it in half because it looked like it would make a lot, but decided to go ahead with the full recipe. Now I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and then some!! Thanks for an easy, quick, yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent soup! The only thing I changed was that I used sausage instead of bacon. Family loved it! Brought it to work for a soup day, and it was the first soup to disappear! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe. I omitted the bacon and used ground Italian sausage instead. I also used fresh spinach and beef broth, rather than chicken broth. This is a delicious, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tameeka L Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I don't usually rate recipes but this is so quick and delicious. The only changes I made were to saute 1/2 chopped onion, 6 cloves minced fresh garlic (we love it) and about 1.5 lbs of crumbled italian sausage in stockpot before adding rest of ingredients. I also used ditalini instead of shells, which I cooked separately to cut down on the starch. I will need to add more chicken stock to it today, since it thickened up quite a bit. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't have regular tomato sauce so Iused a tomato cream jarred sauce. It actually made the soup taste creamier and added more of a tomato flavor. I also left out the bacon to cut back on the fat. Never missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COREENIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Fantastic! I subbed turkey bacon and frozen spinach. I also used whole wheat pasta. Will definitely make again, it was so easy too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Perfection!!! We loved every bite of it! The only changes I made was that I used 10 oz of frozen spinach and added it toward the end and used turkey Italian sausage instead of bacon. Next time, I may parboil the pasta so the soup does not get so thick. Great with crusty bread and a salad. This one will be on our menu often. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Oh YUM!!! I used a bit extra bacon and cooked the soup down so the flavors were a little stronger...way better than the Olive Garden soup which I remember as being pretty bland. Thank you for this recipe! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I was nervous to try this recipe, thinking my boyfriend wouldn't like it. Boy, was I wrong, this is awesome. Great flavor. I did use italian sausage instead of bacon like other users suggested, you definately need to add more water because the noodles soak up alot, and I added an onion because I had extra around the house - not sure if that changed the flavor much or not. Also I didn't have minced garlic so I left that out, it had enough garlic with the garlic powder. Definately will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
In order to make this recipe even healthier, I replaced the bacon with clams, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and used fresh parsley and spinach instead of canned or frozen. We like "fusion" dining so we ate it with Mexican oven-baked corn tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States