Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Yummy recipe! I made it vegetarian and used fresh ingredients - one kilo fresh cranberry beans in place of the canned beans, fresh grated tomatoes in place of the canned, fresh spinach - one large bunch, chopped and added at the end of cooking time. Also used rosemary, fresh parsley and left out the bacon, adding a bit of freshly grated parmesan. Okay, sounds like a whole new recipe - but it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was really good -- with a few changes. I did not try it with bacon, that didn't sound good to me. I used a combination of italian sausage and beef, which I browned in olive oil along with about 1/2 cup of finely-chopped onion, minced garlic, and one stalk of celery, finely chopped. I used La Valle Italian tomatoes, which I think added to the flavor. I also used frozen spinach. It was very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was a hit with my hubby and so easy! I left out the bacon and added fresh spinach right at the end of the cooking time and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khellmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! The only thing I did different was to add some basil and oregano. Great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Had a good flavor overall and was very easy...no chopping involved! I did as others suggested and omitted the bacon and subbed in hot Italian sausage in its place. I also skipped the can of tomato sauce and salt. Will likely make again. Also, the recipe made way more than 8 servings. We put some in the freezer for an quick dinner on another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The changes I made were omitting the bacon and doing about 3/4 lb. of mild Italian sausage (cut up into small pieces), adding an additional 2 cups of water (so 5 cups total), using a bag of frozen spinach instead of canned, only using one teaspoon of minced garlic instead of one tablespoon (way too much), doing ditalini pasta instead of shells, and reducing the salt down to 3/4 tsp instead of 1.5 tsp. Very yummy, hubby ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Vale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delightful recipe, although time consuming to pull together. My husband loved it, too. Told him next time time he had to wash up the pots and pans, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty darn good! I substituted bulk italian sausage for the bacon, as I'm not s bacon fan. It made a ton of soup and yummy. I used ditalini as that's the pasta I had. One thing I would change is the spinachy flavor. Next time I think I'll use fresh spinach, I think that will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A very nice soup. I omitted the bacon, because I don't really care for bacon in most soups or pasta dishes. I didn't have any Italian sausage but if I make this again, I'd like to try it with sausage. I used 5 clumps of frozen spinach, and one can of white beans and one can of chickpeas. I also added some red pepper flakes, but it could have used more of a kick. I would definitely use a bit less tomatoes next time. Good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe, the family loved this soup. I added the frozen chopped spinach and Italian sausage. I put a bit too much pasta so I added more water and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States