Pasta Fagioli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I love soups that eat like a meal, and this recipe certainly does. My husband isn't crazy about bacon, so I substitute Canadian Bacon in place of it. I also use a whole pound of Dinatelli pasta in place of the sea shells. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This is a fantastic soup, I followed everything as is, except decreased salt to 1 tsp. It is a snowy day here and this helped warm things up!! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Overall this was great soup...very close to Olive Garden..I substituted the bacon (why bacon??)for Italian sausage which was much better. I also omitted the salt..didn't need it at all. Next time I will cut down on garlic...whoaaa! 1/8 of a teaspoon of garlic powder is equal to 1 clove..and this recipe totalled 9 cloves! No one came near me for days! Update-use fresh spinach and add at the end. Also, use cannellini beans instead of northern. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was very impressive. I used a 14.5 oz can of toms., frozen spinach and only 1 cup of dry pasta. I didn't have regular bacon but had Wright's ends and pieces, used for seasoning. I cooked the pieces then picked off the meaty parts. I tied the fat into a piece of cheesecloth and added it back to the pot for more flavor. This will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Wow! This is soo good. My husband and I ate it for DAYS. I only used 3 slices of bacon and sauted it with a chopped onion as the first step in the process. I think that the next time I make this, I'll fry the bacon until crisp as suggested. It makes a lot, and goes well with a good crusty bread and wine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
EXCELLENT! I did saute some chopped onions and a stalk of celery with the minced garlic before hand. It really made a difference! I didn't have a 29 oz. can of diced tomatoes so I just used one can of 14.5oz of the "petite diced" tomatoes. It doesn't need 8 slices of bacon, it gave it a great smoky flavor with 3 or 4. It turned out fabulous!! Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Delicious! Had to make some changes based on what I had on hand-- only used 1 can of beans (cannelini) and so used more pasta (3 cups dry of the ditalini); added half large onion, chopped (which I sauteed w/9 cloves fresh); only had 1 can chicken broth so had 4 cups water; and I had run out of basil so just used italian seasoning. ALL that to say -- it STILL came out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
EXCELLENT! Thanks for a great recipe. My husband had been asking for this for a while but doesn't like the kind of Fagioli that is too tomatoee. This one was perfect. Used frozen spinach and added a little olive oil, chopped onions and Italian Seasoning. Will make it again, especially on cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
This turned out as good, if not better than we get at restaurants. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
My family and I loved this soup. I did use frozen chopped spinach instead of canned. All I can say is try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States