Pasta e Fagioli III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very good! The kids even loved it. I tweaked it and added a little Tabasco sauce instead of the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes in basil, oregano and garlic. Also used canned white and navy beans. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Awesome soup! I don't eat meat, but my husband and kids said this was great. My husband said he'd give it 4 3/4 stars. Used leftover Christmas ham. Added some fresh basil and fresh oregano toward the end. Served with "Easiest Focaccia Recipe" bread from this site, and some fresh Parmesan cheese. A big hit with my meat-eating family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
this was awesome..... I didnt measure the water, just covered my ham bone with water and added a ham boullion,and a chicken boullion cube.cooked til beans were done and added everything else to the pot and cooked til carrots & celery were done. I incresed the veggies to 4 celery and 4 carrots, 1 onion and the 3 cloves of garlic, then added 2 cans of italian diced tomatoes (14.5 oz cans) added my cooked pasta at the very end. this was delicious, I made it 2 times in 2 weeks and the first time I used 2 cans of white northern beans and the 2nd time a bag of white northern beans, both were equally delicious. thanks so much for a wonderful hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A very good recipe. Though I must say, growing up in my house (my family coming from near Naples south to Salerno) "Past'e fasule" was not a soup. It was pasta, beans, sometimes pancetta or other ham-based meat, and a thick sauce. The sauce could be tomato based or white, similar to an alfredo. And sometimes it would be merely olive oil, or oil and butter, with pepper and salt. Sometimes anchovies were even added, with a little basil, garlic, and parsley. Sometimes just butter, pepper, salt, parsley, garlic, and grated cheese. Past'e Fasule was a versatile dish: Pasta, beans (and though usually white beans such as Cannellini or Great Northern, they could also be Cranberry (Romano) Beans, or Kidneys, or even Fava beans. I once had the dish with black beans -- not traditional but still satisfying). As with Minestrone, there is great latitude for inventiveness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Lack of flavor comments had me add the following and it was GREAT according to my family. 2 cans of tomatoe paste, 12 chopped garlic cloves. spinach, chicken broth (instead of water), Penne Rigate pasta (visually more appealing than macaroni,) and 1 can each (red & light red) kidney beans with a can of cannelli beans instead of dried to add color and ease. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I love the macaroni in addition to the beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
needs more flavor. I added more garlic and added some oregano. I also had to add more water, i felt it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've gotten recipes off of this website for years and this is my first review. This is the same recipe that my italian father used my whole life. I was happy to see that it was on here. I changed a couple things to try to make it my own. I used 2 cans of navy beans instead of the dried. I added 2 small cans of tomato paste, and I added a bag of baby spinach. It was so delicious no one could stop eating it! We will keep this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Who knew? What an awesome use of the leftover ham and bone. This makes a lucious, hearty soup no matter how you may change it to your preference. The ham give it a rich wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States