Pasta e Fagioli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I just finished making this for a Tuscan-style dinner party. I didn't put any proscuitto but used 1/2 pound of Jimmy Dean Italian sausage instead. Also, I put the ditalini noodles directly into the soup, and I used cannelli beans instead of red beans. My husband said no one is going to believe it's homemade. It's better than any restaurant! Will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good. I substituted chopped tomatoes for the tomato juice, and red pepper flakes for the cayenne pepper as I didn't have any. The prosciutto gave the soup great flavor. Per my own taste, next time I would add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Great use for leftover ham. I have made this three times so far, and I am happy with my modifications: used diced tomatoes (tried crushed tomatoes, but it made it too thick/saucy). A little extra cayenne for a bit more bite, and balsamic instead of white vinegar. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Wow. This was awesome! I added an extra 2 cups of chicken broth, a few extra shakes of cayenne pepper, and put in a can of dark red kidney beans and a can of navy beans. I also served it with a small handful of shredded 6-Italian cheese blend over the top. It reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
wonderful soup! We served it over gnocchi (riccotta cheese gnocchi) instead of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woman Whisking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I halved this recipe, used white beans instead of red, eliminated the tomato juice and used concentrated crushed tomatoes. I have tried a few difference recipes from this site and this one called for procuitto. I used the procuitto but could not really tell a difference in the taste of the soup. It is a hearty, flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great, just added ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yummy hearty soup. I made mine with Italian sausage (had no proscuitto on hand) & just diced the carrot since I think it looks better :)Serve topped with grated parm cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is our new favorite soup. Used ham instead of prosciutto. Hearty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I loved this soup. I didn't have prosciutto so I didn't use it. I substituted 14 oz petite diced tomatoes and 3 T of tomato paste for the tomato juice. I used a can of cannelini beans. Everything else I followed. Heavenly. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States