Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This is an excellent soup and easy to make. The only problem I had was it didn't make enough. I'd double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This recipe was great! Just enough for two, I would double if I had guests. I actually added crushed red peppers to the ingredient list and it was GREAT! If you like a little zing, go for the red pepper, otherwise this is great as is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Delicious. I would definitely double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Instead of 1 cup of onion, I used 1 medium onion. Also, added 2 carrots & 1 celery stalk chopped. Substituted stew tomatoes with canned diced tomatoes and precooked the pasta. Put in some diced ham,too. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
What an excllent soup. I like it because it stays true to the original "rustic" character of pasta e. fagioli in that it does not add a lot of extraneous ingredients (meat, carrots, etc.). It is also very simple and quick to make. I use garbanzo beans instead of cannellini beans because I can never find the latter at the store. I've made this three times now and it gets better every time. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I had my Culinary ARts II class make this soup and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I'm giving this 4 stars as my husband enjoyed it but it seemed a little too tomatoey to me. Maybe I'd like it better with only one can of stewed tomatoes & maybe an extra can of chicken broth. Anyway, I had a little problem with the stewed tomatoes. I bought a brand name (not just the store generic kind) & the chunks were huge. They didn't break down in the cooking process, even though I simmered it longer than the recipe said. I finally took a colander & put it over a large Corningware pot, drained the soup, picked out the stewed tomato chunks, chopped them up, & then put them back in the soup. For the reviewer who was asking about the cannellini beans, I found a can that said they were white kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Great soup! I added an extra can of beans and also some oregano, and to thicken it up a little I used a handheld blender for a bit before adding the pasta. I really like this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go-red-sox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This is a fantastic soup! It definitely does not serve 8 if you're serving as the main course. I added diced carrots, red pepper, green onions and used 2 cans diced tomatoes. I also substituted vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Yum!!! Wonderful and yet oh so easy. I made a few minor changes, but for personal reasons, not because I thought the recipe needed improvement. I cut back the oil to 1 tablespoon, used vegetable stock to make it vegetarian and tossed in some spinach, it just made it look so pretty. I also squished the stewed tomatoes, to make the peices smaller. I have enough soup for a weeks worth of lunches. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States