Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My daughter loves this recipe and always order this soup from Olive Garden and this recipe is almost as good. She gave me a thumbs up. Very easy to cook and the ingredients are so simple in fact I have them all in my pantry. I did added celery and carrots to give more veggie and used 1 28 oz of whole peeled tomatoes and just smoosh it to get the juice more since that's what I have and it turned very well. My daughter had 3 bowl and she normally eat like a bird. This is a keeper..Thanks for posting this delicious pasta e fagioli...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy'smom06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'll gave it 4 stars because I made three changes, but this soup is delicious! I used 2 cans of beans and one can on diced tomatoes that i blended for a few seconds so they were smooth. (I don't like tomato chunks in soup). I also used 3 cups of water and one Vegan No Salt Added Vegetable boullion cube. Later I could taste and control the salt myself. I cooked the pasta separately (I have used Ditalini or small shells) while I simmered the soup covered for 10 minutes and then with the cover half off for 10 minutes. My apartment smelled great and my hubby who hates soup loved it. I put several ladels-full into the blender and blended, then put it back in the soup. Tasty, hearty, filling. As a vegetarian, I love this delicious protein filled soup! Makes enough for lunch the next day. Will make often! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Absolutly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T and loved it. The only problem I had with it was that by the time dinner was over, the remaining pot of soup was all dried up as the pasta had absorbed all of the liquid. We added more broth and enjoyed the soup again the next night, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This soup is easy to do and has great taste.I added ground sausage to it and everybody enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipe is the great as is, but have tinkered a bit several times just to adjust a litte for personal taste. Used 2 tablespoons butter instead of oil; 1/2 box of dilatini pasta because seashells or larger pasta overwhelm the dish; 4 cloves minced garlic; only one can diced tomatoes, but in garlic/onion sauce;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Yummy! Made as described but used diced instead of stewed tomatoes. Leftovers had absorbed most of the liguids so I mixed in cheese, reheated and then melted more cheese on top (turns into a casserole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was too tomato-y for what I would expect from pasta fagioli - it was more like a minestrone. Next time I'll omit a can of tomatoes and add another can of beans. Maybe add some sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This soup was fantastic!!! Even though I usually don't make changes with recipes, i did change some things to this soup. I added chopped carrots with the onion.I added only one can of diced tomatoes (instead of the 2 cans of stewed tomatoes), drained the beans, added 2 cans of chicken broth, one 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and added diced ham. I also cooked the pasta separately then added in before serving. Toped with parm....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this last week for a quick late night dinner. My dad always made Pasta e Fagioli when I was a kid, but he makes his with ground beef and I never really cared much for ground beef (sorry dad)! This recipe was easy and tasted delicious! I used ditalini and boiled it seperately from the rest of the soup and added it when it was still al dente. I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes. This soup is really perfect to use up some of your leftover tomato sauce.. just add the chicken stock and the pasta and beans and you're good to go! This is truly comfort food for me and I recommend trying this! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States