Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yum. I was glad to find this recipe since it didn't have a lot of extra's in it. My grandmother always made this very simply. I did use crushed tomatoes instead of stewed because I didn't want the chucks of tomatoes in the soup. Also I didn't really measure the broth just poured it in until it looked right. And I didn't have any shell pasta so I used elbow. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I tried the recipe as is but found the flavour to be pretty bland. After reading through other ratings I made the following changes: Subbed the stewed tomatoes with puréed. Added about about another cup of broth. Added 1/2 cup chopped carrots and 1/2 cup chopped celery. I also made the pasta separately and added to each bowl then poured the soup over it. I find the pasta tends to absorb a lot of the liquid if you add it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The flavor of the dish was very yummy. Unfortunately, I didn't have canned beans, so I used dried. Even after soaking for 24 hours and cooking for over one hour, the beans were still pretty crunchy. Not good. I strongly recommend using only canned beans-unless you have a pressure cooker and know how to use it. Next time I will do that and it will be very good! This is a good recipe if you are on a low fat, low sodium diet. I used homemade chick broth from this site, and low sodium tomatoes to further reduce the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was very good. I did make a few small changes. I omitted the olive oil and water fried the onion and garlic. I used one pint bottle of home bottled tomatoes from my garden. I used 2 cups of peruano beans that I already had in my refrigerator. I omitted the pepper (I don't care for it.) and used dried parsley. The next time I make it, I will add more beans. (I LOVE beans!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I substituted a 28-oz can of Cento All-in-One Crushed Tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes, and used Ditalini pasta instead of shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great soup! Finally a way I can eat kale without choking it down! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
this is an excellent soup. I added small pieces of pancetta for flavor and a little meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was just ok. Would have been better if maybe a bit of chicken or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! Followed the recipe as written. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Yummmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States