Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My family loved it. I just need to make sure I don't overdo the pasta (I added extra)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy M Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I perused a number of recipes and I liked the simplicity of this one. I made all the adjustments suggested by Chris from Kent, WA, except for herbs, I added the following: 1 tsp. dried of Italian seasoning, Basil, Oregano and 2 tsp. parsley. I also put the diced tomatoes (with garlic, onion, basil) in a food processor and minced (I don't like the chunks)and added mild Italian sausage. I used great northern beans plus small can of chick peas(didn't have cannellini beans). Fabulous!! Absolutely loved this soup!! I will use this recipe as my base and switch up beans, pasta, with or without for a changes in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Good recipe. Just a few "must" changes. It should be a ham-based dish, so I used a hambone in water as the broth. Also replaced stewed tomatoes with diced tomatoes. For what it's worth, authentic old world food is typically made from items you would find on an italian farm. Pork is king. And stewed tomatoes weren't invented back then. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish was absolutely easy to make and rendered such a rich a savory taste. I made a few alterations as per other reviewers. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, slightly more than 1/4 of ditalini pasta, and added about a cup of celery and carrots. Also, I did keep the pasta seperate as I didn't want it to get soggy. It came out Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious. I used a full quart of chicken broth, diced tomatoes (undrained), 2 cans of beans (drained, but not rinsed), and less pasta, but used the seasonings called for (a touch more of each). The chicken broth and one of the cans of beans were both no-salt-added, so I did feel the need to add some salt to the soup. I let it simmer longer (about an hour) just because I wasn't ready to eat yet, and the flavours came together great. And of course I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top just before eating. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made this last week and no one liked it! It didn't have much flavor. I will do a make over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I added italian sausage to mine. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Awesome quick recipe! Subbed Ditalini for sea shell pasta and added 2-3 extra cups of broth and extra basil & garlic, as soup simmered down over time (lots of people over soup was on crock pot for hours). Wonderful, healthy & quick...thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
So good, so easy and even better the next day - definitely add pasta as it's being eaten otherwise it gets mushy and soaks up all the juice. I did end up adding extra garlic, an extra can of tomatoes (Italian seasoned diced) along with an 8 oz can of Italian style tomato sauce; seasoned with additional freshly ground black pepper just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I grew up with this soup... love it. The only change I make is when I'm sweating my onions and garlic I add a pinch of red pepper for a little heat. This soup is so versatile sometimes I add sausage, carrots and celery sometimes not.. a great basic soup. The last time I made it, I took some to my work and now I get hounded to make it all the time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States