Pasta e Fagioli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Made this as written in an attempt to get rid of some canned tomatoes and beans we had on hand, turns out we both liked it. To give the basic recipe some flexibility, husband would have liked sausage in it but I would have liked more vegetables to make it like a minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
It was okay...a little too much tomato taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was great! I did make a number of changes. I used diced tomatoes with onion, garlic and basil and two 14.5 oz. cans of chicken broth. In addition to the onion, I added a cup each of diced carrot and celery. I rinsed and drained my cannellini beans and used dried parsley instead of fresh. I also cut back just a bit (to 3 oz.) on the pasta. This is a nicely flavored soup that’s relatively low in calories, but still quite filling. My version yielded nine cups of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
we found it to be kind of tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is was very easy and delicious! I agree that it was very tomatoey and added an extra cup of chicken broth. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of the the stewed tomatoes as suggested. I used 1/2 cup of small shells because I thought a 1/4 pound of pasta was a lot. You can always add more pasta later if you boil it separtely, which is what my Italians friends do. I added a sprinkle of garlic salt at the end for extra flavor. I like more veggies so I added chopped carrots and some baby spinach I had in the fridge. It came out perfect! You can always adjust the taste of this and add or adjust the seasonings to suit your taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I too cut the tomatoes in half and cooked the pasta separately. I added carrot and ham. I simmered for about 4 hours for the flavors to blend and cook off the acid in the tomatoes. After 2 hours, I pureed1/2 the soup to thicken it up. Topped with Romano & fresh minced parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My family loved it. I just need to make sure I don't overdo the pasta (I added extra)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy M Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I perused a number of recipes and I liked the simplicity of this one. I made all the adjustments suggested by Chris from Kent, WA, except for herbs, I added the following: 1 tsp. dried of Italian seasoning, Basil, Oregano and 2 tsp. parsley. I also put the diced tomatoes (with garlic, onion, basil) in a food processor and minced (I don't like the chunks)and added mild Italian sausage. I used great northern beans plus small can of chick peas(didn't have cannellini beans). Fabulous!! Absolutely loved this soup!! I will use this recipe as my base and switch up beans, pasta, with or without for a changes in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Good recipe. Just a few "must" changes. It should be a ham-based dish, so I used a hambone in water as the broth. Also replaced stewed tomatoes with diced tomatoes. For what it's worth, authentic old world food is typically made from items you would find on an italian farm. Pork is king. And stewed tomatoes weren't invented back then. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish was absolutely easy to make and rendered such a rich a savory taste. I made a few alterations as per other reviewers. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, slightly more than 1/4 of ditalini pasta, and added about a cup of celery and carrots. Also, I did keep the pasta seperate as I didn't want it to get soggy. It came out Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States