Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Made this recipe and thought it tasted good but a little too much celery for me on the first day. Then we had some the next day and the celery taste disappeared and it was even more delicious! The third day heated up it was The Bomb!!!!!It got better and better each day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
We have been looking for this recipe for months. It is outstanding. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Wonderful recipe, and well worth the time it takes to cook! The only modification I made was to cut down on the ground beef- since I made 10 servings instead of twenty, I simply put in one pound instead of one and a half to avoid opening another package of beef. Didn't miss it! I'll have to try putting in navy beans next time alongside the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
The best Fagioli recipe Ive found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. I didn't want to make as much soup as this recipe called for so I only used 1lb beef, 1 onion, a few celery stalks and 1 can of beans. I used everything else about like it was called for except for the consomme. I added a little red pepper and I cut up some fresh tomatoes to add in. I might try using Italian sausage instead of ground beef next time. My husband would highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
My entire family enjoyed this recipe- including our two young children. I added a bit-I got a soup bone and browned it with the ground beef. Then while the tomatoes, consomme, etc. were simmering I added it back in. It added great flavor:)This is a great cold weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
YUMMY! This is a wonderfully flavourful soup that fills your house with the scent of a fine Italian restaurant! I have cooked this both the regular way and by slow cooker, and have had great success for both. For slow-cooker fans: scramble-fry ground beef, then add all ingredients to crock-pot except for kidney beans and pasta. Cook for 4-6 hours on high (or 8-10 on low, your preference). Add the kidney beans and pasta during the last 15 minutes of cooking. If you intend to keep/freeze leftovers, cook the pasta separately and add it to each soup bowl... this will prevent liquid absorption and smushy pasta. I found that macaroni also works well if you can't find ditalini in your grocery store. I reduced the amount of garlic to 5-6 large cloves, minced (for a 10-serving recipe), and we did not lack for garlic flavour! Thanks so much for a first-class recipe, Ivan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Excellent Flavor - Unlike some of the other reviews, I loved the garlic. However, I would add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Outstanding! As good or better than I've had in a popular italian restaurant chain. I made a few changes according to the ingredients I did or didn't have on hand and also cooked the pasta separately so leftovers woudn't be mushy. Ate for dinner last night with garlic cheese bread and the whole family raved. Had it again for lunch today and it was just as good if not better. Definitely a recipe I will make again, and again! Thanks for sharing Ivan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Delicious! The whole family loved it, including my two picky little boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States