Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this today for my Mother for lunch, and loved it so much, we're having it again for dinner. My husband, who's not a soup fan, said it was fantastic. I made it for 8 with 1 lb. ground beef and tinkered a little with some of the ingredients. It was helpful to have a little extra stock on hand. Excellant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I always saddens me when I need to add salt and hot sauce to a dish upon serving it, but this was just too bland. I had a hard time coming to terms w/ the ho-hum-ness of this soup, b/c the aroma wafting through my house as it simmered was remarkably pungent and drool-inspiring. I followed the recipe exactly, w/ th exception of halving it, and using fresh herbs (and lots of them) and fresh garlic (7 cloves), so I don't know if my superhero ability just happens to be a heightened sense of taste b/c I was just a bit disappointed w/ the lack of BLAMO flavor. There are leftovers, so I intend to re-simmer the soup w/ additional spices to give it more oomph. All in all, a hearty soup (and great served w/ a green salad and crusty bread) w/ loads of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I love this. Did in crock pot. Changed a bit. Threw in chopped carrot and green pepper. Added in addition to ground beef a half pound each hot and sweet italian sausage had left over from something else. Put in cup of red wine. Also 2 pinches red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp white pepper. Still was not too spicy. Two heads fresh garlic. OMG smells so good. Make fresh bread and you are in heaven. I would love to see some more of Ivan's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
YUMMMMMM. going into my rotation..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I was really happy with how this recipe turned out. I halved the recipe and made it in the crockpot. I added Navy beans per another review and added a little more pasta (personal preference). I also substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, and I couldn’t tell the difference. My husband LOVED this, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Hmmm. This was just "OK" for me, although my fiance liked this a LOT!!! I found my soup to be terribly bland. It's probably just me though, lol. :-) I must say, this recipe is not only versatile (add or remove any items you see fit), but also economical AND easy to prepare (just allow plenty of time for it). To speed preparation even further, I used my mini food chopper/processor to chop my onions - and thank goodness I did (WOW, did my eyes water!!!)!!!!! Since I halved the recipe, I only ended up using 3 large celery stalks. I decreased the amount of meat (I used a 1.10 lb. package of good 'ol ground chuck, drained/rinsed thoroughly) by nearly a half pound. Oh, and I added a bit of the "juice" from my jar of bottled garlic since Ivan didn't specify otherwise.... I am confused by the multitude of comments that speak of using (or not using) beef consomme. It is not one of the ingredients of this soup! Perhaps Ivan made an ingredient change after the fact and then reposted his recipe??? Anyways, I thought this was good, but am certainly not jumping out of my seat to make it again. I prefer Andrea's pasta fagioli (but my fiance thinks I have bad taste in general hahaha!). If I make this again, it will certainly be for him, not me (sans the beans - he felt they added nothing to the soup). Served with warm French bread to sop up the broth, this was a hearty meal. Thanks for sharing, Ivan! I'm sure your FIL has many excellent recipes that you can share with us! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Fabulous soup. Will keep recipe as a staple soup in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is really good and surprisingly easy. It makes a whole heck of a lot, though, so if you're a household of two like we are, cut it in half or even in quarters. I froze half of the last batch so we'll so how well the pasta holds up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a delicious dish for a cold Wisconsin night. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wonderful soup! To make it lower in fat, I use ground turkey (we couldn't taste a difference from when I made it with ground beef). I also dice up carrots to get some extra veggies in. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States