Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good flavor, I have never added the full amount of garlic and yet the flavor is excellent. Actually going to share this one with a friend. Taste like it is from a restaurant. I use half beef broth and half low sodium chichen broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I halved the recipe and used 32 oz beef broth and 14 oz veg broth and only 1 lb. beef. Used 3/4 can of crushed tomatoes (28 oz can). Used only about 1/4 teas thyme and added a dash of red pepper flakes and a dash of sugar, along with all the rest of the spices recommended. Cooked the beef, onion, celery, and 3 teas garlic until beef was no longer pink. Drained, then added everything else and simmered 45 min. Added pasta and beans and cooked 15 more minutes. Topped with parmesan... better than any other pasta fagioli I've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic! I scaled the recipe down to half. I forgot to add celery but didn't even miss. I cooked the pasta seperately till al dente and threw it in at the end. I ended up using more beef broth than required but I was looking more for a soupy result. So good!!! Will make again. Was skeptical on adding a whole jar of garlic but glad I did. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I've avoided this recipe for years because I hate pasta in soup, but the recent photo by TTV78 caused me to add this soup to my list, and I'm glad I did! It looks like a soup my mother made, and after making it, it tastes quite a bit like it as well. I used orzo so that squishy noodles wouldn't be bothersome to us. I think my mother might've also used red wine or red wine vinegar in some fashion -- I think that's the missing flavor, and possibly also a shredded carrot. We liked this a lot, served with crusty rolls and a handful of grated Parmesan on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I think that the only problem with this soup is the lack of salt. On the second day when I reheated it, I added a fair (1 tsp.) of salt and topped with grated parm. I served with a salad and Italian bread. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This soup rates up there with those we've had at fancy Italian restaurants. Followed the directions exactly and the only thing I modified from the ingredient list was elbow macaroni instead of ditalini pasta (what I had on hand). Half the recipe made more than plenty for the 2 of us for several meals. Leftovers are even BETTER the next day! Absolutely loved this delicious soup! It will definitely be one of my "go-to" meals. Thank you for this keeper of a recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING. Thanks for sharing this family recipe. It will definitely be a new family favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Definitely 5 stars! I did the crockpot method for this. I browned drained the beef (used very lean beef and 1/2 ground turkey for the meat) and added to the crockpot. I then sautee'd the veggies and added that. I used a 6 quart crockpot and could only fit in about 96 ounces of beef stock. I added about 10 cloves of garlic and added some garlic powder and crushed red pepper to the seasonings. I cooked the pasta separately and added to the individual bowls for serving. My kids and I LOVED it! My kids are 4 and 6 and both cleaned their bowls. I also added 8 ounces of fresh mushrooms to the last 3-4 hours of cooking time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was very good, one that I would definitely make again. However, next time, I would cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup as opposed to 1/2 cup because I thought that it was a bit too oily for my liking. Also, I boiled the pasta separately and kept it separate so that everyone could add as much or as little as they liked. I also added shaved carrots for color. All in all, this recipe was great and went perfect with a crusty baguette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great taste and easy to prepare. I cut the recipe in half and used a little more pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States