Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was so easy to make and was wonderful. Even though I didn't let the soup cook as long as specified (I was in a hurry), it was amazing. I chose to use fresh garlic, and probably didn't add enough, I would have liked a little more garlicky punch. Served with homemade garlic toast, my family loved it. Instead of using two cans of red kidneys, I threw one can of cannelini beans in and for the pasta, I used the tiny shell pasta. It looked so pretty. I also tried cutting the fat by using lean ground turkey, and I think it was just fine. Thank you Ivan for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious~makes so much soup that I thought I was gonna need a bigger pot. Was a bit timid with the garlic so I used about half of what the recipe called for. Next time I will use the entire amount. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I feel like I'm at Olive Garden! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Have to say this was Awesome. I increased by 2.5 times and served to my Lions Club for dinner (it was my night to cook) with RAVE reviews. Served 35 easy and allowed for seconds. Only thing I did different was cooked the pasta separately. Perfect meal, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Super fabulous Italian soup recipe! We LOVED it! Wouldn't change a thing! I cooked ground turkey over the stove with diced onions, celery, garlic, and pepper. I added above mixture to the crock pot with beef broth, crushed tomatoes, paste, and herbs for about 5 hours on high. I then added beans the last 15 minutes, while the elbow pasta cooked. Added pasta to bowls then pored soup on top with grated parm cheese. Served with home made french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good flavor, I have never added the full amount of garlic and yet the flavor is excellent. Actually going to share this one with a friend. Taste like it is from a restaurant. I use half beef broth and half low sodium chichen broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I halved the recipe and used 32 oz beef broth and 14 oz veg broth and only 1 lb. beef. Used 3/4 can of crushed tomatoes (28 oz can). Used only about 1/4 teas thyme and added a dash of red pepper flakes and a dash of sugar, along with all the rest of the spices recommended. Cooked the beef, onion, celery, and 3 teas garlic until beef was no longer pink. Drained, then added everything else and simmered 45 min. Added pasta and beans and cooked 15 more minutes. Topped with parmesan... better than any other pasta fagioli I've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic! I scaled the recipe down to half. I forgot to add celery but didn't even miss. I cooked the pasta seperately till al dente and threw it in at the end. I ended up using more beef broth than required but I was looking more for a soupy result. So good!!! Will make again. Was skeptical on adding a whole jar of garlic but glad I did. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I've avoided this recipe for years because I hate pasta in soup, but the recent photo by TTV78 caused me to add this soup to my list, and I'm glad I did! It looks like a soup my mother made, and after making it, it tastes quite a bit like it as well. I used orzo so that squishy noodles wouldn't be bothersome to us. I think my mother might've also used red wine or red wine vinegar in some fashion -- I think that's the missing flavor, and possibly also a shredded carrot. We liked this a lot, served with crusty rolls and a handful of grated Parmesan on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I think that the only problem with this soup is the lack of salt. On the second day when I reheated it, I added a fair (1 tsp.) of salt and topped with grated parm. I served with a salad and Italian bread. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States