Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Bravo Ivan! Words are inadequate to describe how much hubby and I enjoyed your pasta e fagioli tonight! I took just a little liberty with the recipe, using fresh minced garlic, tomato sauce from my garden, a "glug" of a good red wine, and fresh parsley. I used the amount of herbs as the recipe directed, even though I thought it might be too much, but it all came together perfectly. Topped this with a little shredded mozarella and served it with garlic bread. This Italian gal cleaned her bowl! As for hubby? The first words out of his mouth (filled with pasta e fagioli) were, "Make this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I have had this recipe many times. Made the first time I had it, and quite a few times after that by Chez Ivano (Ivan O.Teeter) himself. Ivan was my father-in-law. Unfortunately Ivan passed away just over two years ago. He had many recipe's. This one was among his favorites. Most people who have had it agree it is an excellent Italian soup. We have served Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano (he really liked that name) numerous times to guests, and they always ask for the recipe before they leave. People will try variations to satisfy there own tastes but the basis of this recipe remains Ivan's. Perhaps one day I will get his recipe book out and share more with you. There is a recipe for S.O.S. that I'm sure most who have been in the military would appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
YUMMY! This is a wonderfully flavourful soup that fills your house with the scent of a fine Italian restaurant! I have cooked this both the regular way and by slow cooker, and have had great success for both. For slow-cooker fans: scramble-fry ground beef, then add all ingredients to crock-pot except for kidney beans and pasta. Cook for 4-6 hours on high (or 8-10 on low, your preference). Add the kidney beans and pasta during the last 15 minutes of cooking. If you intend to keep/freeze leftovers, cook the pasta separately and add it to each soup bowl... this will prevent liquid absorption and smushy pasta. I found that macaroni also works well if you can't find ditalini in your grocery store. I reduced the amount of garlic to 5-6 large cloves, minced (for a 10-serving recipe), and we did not lack for garlic flavour! Thanks so much for a first-class recipe, Ivan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I did somethings differently just to add my own personal touch. Cook the pasta separately because it gets mushy the longer it sits in the pot. Abbi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made this soup in honour of the Opening Ceremony for the 2006 Olympics in Torino...and i have to tell you, this recipe is absolutely amazing! The only change i made was to add about 1/2 can of navy beans - like Olive Garden's. I halfed the recipe to 10 servings and it turned out perfectly. I would suggest making the Pesto Bread Rounds recipe off of allrecipes to go with the soup...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORY7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I cut the recipe in half for 10 servings, but next time will do it for 20 servings. It is delicious! I'll be making this Pasta e Fagioli recipe from now on. I served it with a salad and crusty Italian bread. A big hit with my husband who said it was definitely a "Keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Okay, I've never had this before, I loved it! I did add fresh mushrooms and zucchini, , and after saute'ing the veggies and ground beef, put it in a crock pot on low for a couple hours, till we got home, and OMG, will be making this all the time. I did keep the pasta separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Made this recipe and thought it tasted good but a little too much celery for me on the first day. Then we had some the next day and the celery taste disappeared and it was even more delicious! The third day heated up it was The Bomb!!!!!It got better and better each day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Excellent soup! I have made versions of this soup before but this is the best - very hearty..I served with bread. Since there are only 2 of us I halfed the entire recipe which still allowed for several bowls for each of us and a container for my parents! Only tweak I made was using fresh garlic (6 cloves minced) instead of jarred. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This soup rates up there with those we've had at fancy Italian restaurants. Followed the directions exactly and the only thing I modified from the ingredient list was elbow macaroni instead of ditalini pasta (what I had on hand). Half the recipe made more than plenty for the 2 of us for several meals. Leftovers are even BETTER the next day! Absolutely loved this delicious soup! It will definitely be one of my "go-to" meals. Thank you for this keeper of a recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States