Pasta e Fagioli a la Chez Ivano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very good. We were looking for Pasta e Fagioli as great as served by a small ‘mom & pop’ Italian restaurant where we once lived but this didn’t quite match that exemplary standard. Will make this again but with some modifications aimed at trying to recreate the one we loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My wife LOVED this recipe - "it's one of the best things you've made" (and I make a LOT!). It is hearty, filling and the perfect balance. One thing I found was I had to add salt - about 1 tsp for 7 servings. This may have been because the broth I used was reduced sodium but there was definitely 'something missing'. I salted a small tasting portion and my wife confirmed, "That's it!". The recipe wasn't specific but I used cannelini beans - white kidney beans. It might be fun to mix in a can of red. I will absolutely make this again - remembering the diatlini and to measure how much salt! JOHND - love to see some more of your FIL's recipes. This one is absolutely a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
LOVE IT!!! Exactly how Olive Garden's taste :-) I did not change a thing and it came out perfecto! A bottle of red wine and some warm french bread and oooh la la...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
WE loved this so much I'm just sorry I waited so long to try it. Made it just as read but on a smaller scale and with just a bit less garlic. It was a little time consuming to prepare but judging from how quickly it all disappeared, well worth every minute. Adding the pasta and beans for the last 20 minutes or so was a good idea, they stayed more "al dente" that way and the flavour was really very good. I would even consider cooking the pasta separately from the sauce next time...and I will be making a much bigger pot next time to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We really liked this soup! Some of the other reviewers said that something was lacking...I think they were right. I had to add salt. I was using low sodium beef broth and the addition of salt at the table was what it needed for sure...and perhaps a bit more pepper. I think I'll add these during the cooking process next time. This recipe was huge! I halved it for my family of four and have tons of leftovers. I didn't know how much a 4.5 oz jar of minced garlic was from fresh and couldn't find it by Googling so I just used one whole head of garlic which I minced and it turned out great. I couldn't discern a specific garlic flavor in the soup, but I don't think you're supposed to, I think it is supposed to be a player in the medley not the main event. Some reviewers said the pasta became overcooked so I added the beans first and then the pasta. When it was al dente I removed it from the heat and let it sit for almost an hour to let the flavors mingle. As the soup rested the pasta absorbed practically all of the broth so I had to add about another 16 ounces of straight beef broth to reconstitute it (like the creator suggested in his synopsis) which worked just lovely. We topped with powdered Parmesan and I ended up ripping up my french bread and throwing it in mine. YUM! UPDATE: I had this at 4 and changed it to 5. I'm addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I really liked this soup. It tasted great and smelled wonderful too. I used fresh garlic and regular macaroni because I couldn't find ditalini pasta. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Love this recipe!! This has been my go to recipe whenever I get the craving for Pasta Fagioli. Even my non-italian hubby thinks this is wonderful. No need to try any other recipes this hits it head on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was great! I cut the recipe in half, and reduced the garlic, but other than that I followed the recipe as written, and it was delicious. This soup is super hardy and comforting. My boyfroend said "you can make this anytime". Very easy to prepare and very yummy. I will be making this a lot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Omitted the celery but kept everything else the same. Phenomenal. Family loved it. Thank you Chez:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Fantastic flavor for such simple ingredients. I scaled the recipe down considerably, and also used some leftover carrots and peppers which I diced. I replaced the crushed tomatoes with a can of rotel. I will be making this again. The ditalini is a great choice of pasta as it is delicate and doesn't overwhelm the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States