Pasta de Sardine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I found this a rather unusual recipe but my creative mind started to wander and I thought of sitting on the beach, grilling fresh sardines on a fire and adding it to some pasta...shortly thereafter the calculator part of my brain (the 'Money Man') kicked in and I though, "well a can of sardines runs a buck or two-for about four ounces. I can go to the fish counter and get fresh salmon for around $8 a pound or about $2 for four ounces...just like sardines. If I can afford a pound I'll get it, or a small fillet and make pasta!" then I found 'Grilled Salmon I' on this site (2600+ five stars reviews-amazing) and started thinking about asian noodles and grilled salmon, maybe a little steamed broccoli-but that's another story for another day. I haven't even cooked anything yet, but I have some copper river (Alaska) Sockeye salmon in the freezer from last fall so I now know what dinner will be tomorrow night! Grilled salmon and pasta with a salad. Using this as a 'base recipe'. Is this a great site or what? I learned to cook a little from America's test kitchen and foodnetwork, but it's this site and all you guys who taught me how to really cook. And your folks who get all torqued when people change the recipes? Calm down! Have fun! It's our food, not brain surgery! We can do what ever we want. So I gave this five stars for its inspriration. I will report back to you all with the results. And thanks to sonnychiba for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
eh... I thought it was ok, hubby didn't like it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Truly an easy and quick dish. I added more salt to my taste, but I wouldn't change anything. I was surprised of how creamy in texture this came out and the lemon added a brightness to the dish. I don't think I will make this a regular rotation in our house. My husband would not even taste it (his loss), but I thought it was an interesting way to use up some of the leftover canned sardines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizgger15
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I added 1 can of tomato sauce and crushed the sardines to blend them into the sauce. I was out of parmesan and used Dubliner cheese. I also added 1 tbsp pesto sauce. Great recipe with tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Not as bad as you'd think it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Unfortunately we did not enjoy this dish. The sardines were a bit overwhelming. Thanks for putting the recipe out there, it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Thought I had anchovies but it was sardines so I found this recipe. The sardines were only in the pan for a couple minutes but they turned out rubbery and had a very odd texture. The flavor was fine but I would never heat sardines again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
very nice recipe - the only tweak I'll do next time is add a bit more tomato sauce from a jar, as the amount that comes with the sardines in the can isnt really enough to do the job - will make it again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
After Coming home with an inexplicable amount of sardines ( pleasures of Costco shopping), I had to find recipes to use them. This one does not disappoint! I love that it is so easy and quick to make, not to mention healthy and inexpensive. Sardines have all kinds of nutrients that are beneficial, not just the omega 3s that we hear so much about. Thank you SONNYCHIBA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So happy and surprised with this recipe. Am low on food...had old whole wheat pasta, canned sardines not much else yet wanted a healthy satisfying dinner. This fit the bill. (and it is so cheap!). The only changes I made is that the sardines I had were in water so I added a bit (few TBS) of canned diced tomatoes and a few Tbs of leftover tom sauce to make up for that. I also didn't have much parma left so I probably shaved only 2Tbs onto my serving. This was fresh tasting, and delicious. I think the sardines I buy (at Trader Joes) are high quality. It didn't taste like a canned meat to be honest this was restaurant-tasty. It must be about the quality of the sardines, as others seem to have a different experience. I am happy and full of healthy food...sardines are so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States