Pasta Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I love this recipe ! I made it a little different. I cooked the chicken in a little olive oil and italian dressing.great flavor and lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Unfortunately the recipe, as is, did not turn out well. As other suggested, I soaked the garlic, sun-dried tomatoes in oil and used the oil to cook the pre-cut chicken pieces (however added extra olive oil and two garlic cloves while cooking). I added an extra 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, three garlic cloves, 1/8 cup basil, and 1/8 cup grape seed oil to the final mix because it had little taste. I doubt I will use this recipe again. Only one out of four family members enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was just okay as written, but with the help of the reviews, I would give it 5 stars. I sauteed the chicken with smashed garlic cloves, and then sauteed the zucchini in a separate pan with olive oil; after it was soft I added the sun dried tomatoes, 1/2 sprig of rosemary finely chopped, 1 minced garlic clove, salt to taste (needs a lot), and a little sprinkle of red pepper flakes and black pepper. Once the pasta was finished, I saved about 1/3 Cup of the pasta water, and mixed the pasta, the vegetables, and the water together and simmered on low. I added more garlic salt,about 1/4 Cup half and half, and about 1/8 cup chicken stock. I continued to simmer, adding more garlic salt and pepper to taste. At the end I added another garlic clove (we love garlic!) to give extra zip, and then grated parmesan over the top. It was delicious and we will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this with the same ingredients as directed, just altered the preparation method a bit. After steaming the zucchini and squash I sauteed them in the pan with the sun dried tomatoes I had cooked the chicken in. I also put the the cut up cooked chicken back in the pan at the same time to flavor it more and keep it warm. I used sun dried tomatoes in oil because I prefer them over the standard ones. Instead of tossing everything together at the end, I just plated the pasta and then poured some of the chicken/veggie mixture on each - it saved me from getting another dish dirty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is the start of a great recipe. I would have given it a five, but I made a lot of changes. I microwaved zucchini slices, carrot slices and some fresh brocoli florets until crisp tender. I then sauted them in EVOO with 1/2 of a sweet onion cut in 2 inch slices, a red pepper in 2 inch pieces, and a few baby bella mushrooms, sliced. I added 2 minced cloves of garlic, chicken chunks that I had left over from a rotissarie chicken. I added sliced sun-dried tomatoes with a little bit of the oil they were packed in. Finally I added a couple of tablespoons of evoo to the pasta, mixed it all together and added some grated parmesan and sprinkled a small handfull of shredded mozerella. It was fabulous, restaurant quality. My family loved it. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Bland as-is, but add a lot of pesto and maybe some artichokes, and it's great! Grow your own basil and make home-made pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great! Because I was concerned about the flavor issue, I fried a little turkey bacon in olive oil before I cooked the chicken (which I had already cut into pieces). I added some garlic and allowed to cook. Then I added some halved cherry tomatoes, a chopped summer squash, sliced mushrooms, and chopped spinach. Allowed to cook, added some salt, pepper, and oregano. Then combined it (including the juices) with some penne pasta (all that we had) and mixed it all together with a little crumbled feta cheese. It was great! The turkey bacon really added to it. You could also use proscuitto or pancetta, which I think would be even more delicious, if less good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
The artichoke addition in several reviews make this dish very good. True that it would be bland otherwise, but this change and a bit of garlic makes it work. Also a lower pasta ratio was a good thing - the other ingredients had more flavor. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used the olive oil from the tomatoes to cook the chicken - definitely gave it a nice flavor! I also used 3 cloves of crushed garlic and 2 pinches of dried rosemary when I sauteed the squash and zucchini (instead of steaming it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I just made this for dinner. It was good - with a couple of alterations to give it more flavor :) I sauteed the chicken in olive oil from the tomatoes, with garlic & basil and a little salt. I used all squash since I didn't have a zucchini, and tossed in a tomato heated in the pan after the chicken was done. I also used the oil from the tomatoes as another user recommended & added salt & pepper when I tossed it all together. After all that it made a yummy dinner & I can't wait to have it cold for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States