Pasta Carbonara I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made this using regular milk for the cream and left the butter out. I'm sure it would have been creamier with those included, but for those who are looking to cut corners with fat and calories, it was still really good without that extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
Yummy dish, but make sure to stir the eggs in for awhile to ensure their cooked and well-heated. I also chopped up an onion and fried it with the bacon. Add the bacon at the very last minute so it stays nice and crunchy, also sprinkle a few diced tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This was delicious! I used penne pasta because it holds in a lot of sauce for each bite, and I also added chicken and peas. One thing, though, make sure your eggs really are room temperature and not still chilled. I was in a hurry and did not do this the first time I cooked this dish and the pasta was a bit cold. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very nice and easy to make. Tasted great as well! I changed the recipe a bit though. I used single cream and skim milk more than what was stated for the double cream as we like pasta with sauce and not dry plus I used 3 eggs and loads of parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
A very easy and tasty dish! Substituted diced prosciutto instead of bacon and added 1/2 cup of frozen baby peas to the pasta. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
really great! I added broccoli and carrots to the pasta during the last couple of minutes cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVED IT!! I will make this over and over. Not lo-cal but oh well. I used a combo of recipes and this was the closest to what I did. I used more then a half a pound of bacon and I did like the texture it gave by cutting up the bacon first instead of just crumbling whole pieces into it. I cooked some sliced baby ports. and diced onions in the bacon fat. I whisked in about 3 TBL of butter into the drippings. I whipped about 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup grated parm into the 1 egg and 3 egg yolks. Tossed the pasta into that and then threw it into the pan for a minute or two and kept it moving. I did not get this creamy like sauce but the taste was out of this world. I could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I only added one egg as it was thick enough with the cheese. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very good, but sauce wasn't smooth. Maybe use fresh parm instead of grated? I added some garlic powder for flavor, but could have added more. Might keep the bacon drippings in the pan to add bacon flavor, b/c it seemed like the bacon flavor didn't have much time to dissipate through the sauce. Overall very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Rand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Wonderful recipe. This was the first time I was making pasta carbonara for a picnic lunch and it turned out just right. I guestimated the amount of bacon and more would have been better but that was me, not the recipe. Make sure to get your timing right. My pasta was ready before I was, so I left it to sit in the water to retain its heat. Unfortunately this added "cooking" time made it overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States