Pasta Carbonara I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
It was a good base recipe, but really lacked flavor. I made it exactly per the instructions and ended up adding mushrooms, asparagus, garlic, and red pepper flakes for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Had no flavor, sauce came out lumpy. would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Made this tonight and I was sooo excited to have some, but I was a little disappointed. I think next time I would only do 3 eggs and increase the cream. It was too eggy for my taste and not enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thais

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is one of our favorites. I like to add 1 cup of Frozen Peas at the end of the pasta boil to make it more Italian style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Great recipe but I added tomatoes and chicken to give it an added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ecru, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was a very easy recipe, and my husband and 3 year old son loved it. I did cook some chicken with garlic and add it in. It was delicious and we have enough leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I decided to make this because I thought I had everything needed for this recipe and since we're in the middle of a move we needed something quick, easy and filling. I started out this recipe incredibly sceptical and once I realized I was short on bacon I only became more sceptical. During cooking it looked so odd to me (with my substitute left over rotiserrie chicken and mushroom sauted in the bacon grease) that I really stopped trying to make it good. I just wanted to finish it and call it a day and perhaps call in a pizza. BUT, even with the substitutions and my complete lack of effort it was a DELICIOUS recipe! Honestly, if I can't mess it up (as a novice) with a ton of substitutions and with out even trying to measure or do it right, then I doubt that there's a way to really mess it up. Totally worth trying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Easy to follow and very yummy...I love cheese so of course I used more and was so good! Also, I use angel hair pasta instead of fettucine because angel hair is smaller and I like that better - soaks up more of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was very tasty. I sauteed onion and garlic, and substituted prociutto (only cook it a short time or it gets gamey)I substituted milk for cream, but I regret it. I also threw in steamed broccoli florets, but I recommend peas for a more authentic Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
i have always loved this dish but have been worried about the raw eggs and making it at home. well i finally bit the bullet and just tried this recipe and we loved it. even my very very picky eater boyfriend loved it. i have made this atleast 3 times a month since i first tried. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States