Pasta, Broccoli and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Good, but I was expecting a little more flavor. I increased the pesto to 3 tbsp. but it could have used 4 or more. Also, I would have liked more tomatoes. Black olives or red onion might have zipped it up a little more...May try again with some of these alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
So tastey!! We loved this pasta!! I cubed the chicken before cooking it, and then I cooked it in a frying pan with a little olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic powder which gave the chicken a nice flavor. I suggest starting the boiling water right away like the recipe says. I waited a little while and forgot how long it does take for water to boil, and then you can time it so the pasta is done at the same time as the sauce. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added a third tablespoon of pesto and that seemed like a great amount. We love tomatoes so next time I would add more. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
My husband and I LOVE this recipe. It reminds me of the Penne with Broccoli entree at Pasta Bravo Restaurant but with the pesto kick. I also add sundried tomatoes and a little extra pesto. This recipe serves 3-4 adults, not 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I used more vegetables than the recipe called for. I used a head of broccoli, a bunch of asparagus, an onion, sundried tomatoes, and roasted red peppers (cheated and used jarred ones). It was EXCELLENT. Trick is I think to add pesto and olive oil to your taste. Fresh herbs also improve this dish tremendously. A hand ful of fresh basil. Thanks I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
What a wonderful use of kitchen staples. My 4 and 5 yr olds loved the dish, even went for seconds. It was a good mix of vegetables, noodles and spice for family dinners. I nearly doubled the pesto, and increased the garlic as well. I cooked the pesto mix first, then used the pan to grill chicken breast; while I blanched the broccoli in the micro. This will be a wonderful repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I was in the mood for a dish with pasta, chicken, and broccoli without a heavy cream sauce and this did the trick. I am not s huge pesto fan, but it went well with this recipe. I agree to add more pesto- I also thought you could double the amount of broccoli and triple the amount of tomatoes. I added more veggies than required, but I still thought it could use more. I also used the "corkscew" pasta which I thought would go better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I Enjoyed this Recipe. I Did Add White Wine, Onion, Garlic, Left Out The Tomatoes, And Used Red Bell Pepper. Was Nice Change, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Great meal and easy to fix. Husband liked it too! I did add another Tbs of pesto and a little more olive oil b/c it was dry w/out adding some. Also added add'l 1/2-1 cup of fresh tomatoes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have made this a few times and this recipe has become a family favorite. It's delicious as written but I've also varied the veggies as follows: asparagus, pine nuts, artichoke hearts, mushrooms, zucchini, etc. (Not all at the same time, of course, just whatever we were in the mood for!) Grocery store rotisserie chicken provides a great head start. I also use more pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Pasta, Broccoli & Chicken Haiku: "This was colorful. A vibrant and tasty dish. But More Pesto Please!" I should've taken the advice of other reviewers and up'ed the pesto b/c it was just a dainty kiss of flavor. I used more broccoli and less pasta (penne's all that I had, but hey, they're tubes too), and I also sauteed onion and bell pepper w/ the garlic. I also used an Italian-seasoned can of tomatoes as opposed to chopped fresh. I don't think that I changed the recipe too terribly much, so I'm only giving it 4 stars b/c I think 1.) Needs the onion inclusion, or at least more veggies & less noodle. 2.) Definitely needs more pesto and 3.) No wait, just the 2. It's a good meal and all the better that it's not a heavy-creamy-pesto dish, so the brightness of color and flavor is a nice harmony with the "healthy" fats of the oil and pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States