Pasta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is so simple to make. I was originally confused by what kind of pasta mostaccioli is--turns out it's penne, but when I was at the grocery nobody knew what that was so I ended up with campanelle (which was the frilly-est one available). I liked the extra twirl over penne. I added one packet of Good Seasonings Zesty Italian when cooking the meat, and used 4oz of fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I put 1/2 the cheese on top. I also used a Corningware deep white circular dish and kept the glass lid on until the last 10 min of cooking. This kept the edges moist and let the cheese brown at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excelent!!! I also add some bell pepers and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is very good. The only subsitutes I used were ground turkey instead of beef and I used dried minced onion instead of fresh. This is definately something I will make on a regular basis! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I doubled this and froze one for later. Simple and good-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
One of my new favorite pasta dishes! I can't stand mushrooms so I don't use them, but everything else is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
who would have thought such simple ingredients make great taste?! Reminded me of lasagna. took the suggestions of other readers and added italian seasoning and garlic. will try layering this mix with a layer of ricotta cheese next time i make lasagna for a quicker version. thanks heaps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Very good meal that the kids love. next time, i will only use 1/2 or 1/4 of onion, the full one did add plenty of sweet flavor, however, it was a bit overwhelming for a non-onion eater
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Wow, this was the best pasta bake I've made. Most baked ziti/pasta dishes call for 16 oz of pasta which I think is too much. Using only 8 oz of pasta really helps the flavors stand out more, I think. I used ground turkey, 1/2 tsp each of garlic and onion powders, and didn't use mushrooms or fresh onion. Also added 2 cups sweet white corn. Added a can of Muir Glen pizza sauce in addition to the Hunt's spaghetti sauce I used, because my husband likes a "saucier" pasta dish and the pizza sauce was the only extra sauce I had on hand. I had everything I needed in my freezer or cupboard to make this, which is great when the fridge is empty. I make baked pasta often so I pretty much kept my usual recipe but only used 8 oz pasta like this recipe calls for. Awesome stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was very easy recipe. I loved it. I think it would taste better if you can add Italian Sausage! Mmmmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peprika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I make a variation of this and it's an absolute favorite in my house!! It's easy, it's filling. Great by itself or as a side. And great leftovers! yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Barilla® Gluten Free Pasta Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Barilla® PLUS Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States