Pasta and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I make this dish often and like any recipe there are always variations depending who is making it. Its probably the easiest meal that you could prepare but it relies on the cooks judgement to get it right. When cooking Italian i have never measured anything because I know when its just right or if it needs more, firstly I only use spaghetti or linguine, I would add more garlic at least two or three cloves and I would add extra virgin olive oil straight to the pasta after its been drained. I would of course add a touch of oil to cook the garlic then add to the pasta. This is a matter of personal preference but I add a liberal amount of shredded parmasan cheese not just a sprinkle. Do not use romano cheese as it flavour is milder and is more suited to soups and stews. This dish is one of my personal favourites as its easy and healthy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is one wonderful dish. You can embellish it all you want just like you can put all kinds of stuff on vanilla ice cream. But you don't really improve it. You just make it different. The only thing I would add is just to remind you that garlic loses its strength (I did use more) when it is cooked and so does olive oil. So, I used a minimal amount of olive oil for very lightly browning the garlic so I could add more straight from the bottle in the finished dish. To me, this is a treasure of a dish. Thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Shepherd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Garden City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Delicious! The aroma is fantastic, the taste, yummy! To the person who did not know how to measure out 1 1/2 lb spaghetti, just buy 2 16 oz boxes, use one whole box and 1/2 of the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This recipe was disapointing. First off, I have no idea how to measure 1 1/2 pounds of pasta. Was it dry or cooked, I don't know. So maybe that's why it turned out flavorless, I didn't do the measurments right. Who knows? But it wasn't very good. Shucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I tinkered a bit with this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. I've been looking for side dishes which are lighter in calories and fat. Here's what I did. I boiled a 1 lb. pkg of Angel Hair Pasta, drained and tossed with 1 tbsp extra Virgin Olive Oil - so it wouldn't stick, sauteed 1 diced cherry pepper, a heaping tbsp of minced garlic in 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil, then I drained and chopped a 6 oz. jar of marinated Artichoke Hearts, tossed it around in a bowl with the parmesan cheese. I served this along side some oven-roasted brocoli florets and grilled Lemon Pepper Chicken for a tasty, healthy meal - Do try it with the chopped Artichoke Hearts ...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I really like this recipe. However, I tinkered with it a bit to make it into a main dish. I used 1/4c Extra Virgin Olive Oil to sautee onion and garlic. Then, added 1/4c water and cut up some Asparagus and cooked till firm. Then added some Angel Hair Pasta and a little bit more Extra Virgin Olive Oil and salt and pepper to taste. And it turned out wonderful!!! I like to measure by my personal tastes tho. Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this receipe! I did add a little extra garlic ( I am a huge fan) but the taste was great. It was fast and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great side. Thanks for the recipe. I'm sorry but, if you don't know how to measure 1 1/2 lbs. of pasta perhaps cooking is not your forte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Good basic pasta side. I used whole wheat pasta, half EVOO/half melted butter and tossed some roasted broccoli in with it. This went well with the Balsamic Marinated Chicken Breast. I used a quality grated Parmesan Cheese, which I think makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Delicious and easy! I doubled the garlic and added some veggies that were in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States