Pasta and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I did what most other reviewers did and roasted the cauliflower florets. I used fresh garlic, added a pinch of red pepper flakes and totally forgot the Parmesan. I really liked this and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Google found this recipe for me when I had a bunch of leftover cauliflower. As always, I took the advice of previous reviewers and did half cauliflower and half broccoli. I also skipped the garlic powder, but added chilli flakes (3 shakes worth for a halved recipe). I also threw on a bunch of freshly ground pepper and was generous with the parmeasan. Deliciousness ensued! It was a fully satisfying meal with just enough kick. Leftovers heated up well the next day! I will definitely make again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilikeitspicy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
i admit i thought this looked lame and tasteless, but thought i'd try it b/c of the good reviews and it didn't require a trip to the store. i was wrong, it is great. as suggested, i roasted the cauliflower and onion along with A LOT of fresh pressed garlic in a drizzle of olive oil and added 1/2 c. pasta water at the end. i also decreased pasta to 1/2 lb. bc thats what i had and thought that was a good ratio -- i would never make this with the full lb. drizzeled with a little more olive oil and few shakes of cavendar's greek seasoning, topped with fresh grated parmesan -- YUM. on my third bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did not steam my cauliflower. Instead, I tossed it with a little EVOO and some salt/fresh ground pepper and roasted it. I did increase the garlic by a few cloves, I upped the parmesan cheese and I threw in a little crushed red pepper flake. Not only was this quick to prepare, the boys thought it was very good--even my cauliflower hating husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I tried this once as written, very bland. Next time I roasted the cauliflower & onion & garlic, added olive oil, salt & pepper before roasting. Then I cooked the pasta (penne rigate) and mixed in some some leftover marinara, shredded mozzarella & parmesean. Put in in the oven until the cheese melted. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My suggestion is to avoid measuring and instead add salt, pepper, garlic powder, olive oil, Parmesan, and your own favorite shredded cheese all to your heart's desire. I roasted the cauliflower with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and it came out great! Then mixed it into the onions and added it to the pasta along with 2 types of cheese (parm and shredded Gouda). I also agree with the suggestion to add back some of the cooking water to the pasta; I used a whole grain pasta, and it soaked it right up. I can see why some people found this recipe a little dry. It's good, but the flavor is not wonderful/intense enough for 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Made this the other night and I reduced the olive oil to 3 Tablespoons...when I repeat this recipe, I'll reduce it to 2 Tablespoons. Added some chopped pepper along with the onion; omitted the garlic powder but increased the fresh garlic; subsituted fresh oregano for the parsley. This is definately a keeper and will also try it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
We didn't really care for this. I did add the pasta water, which helped a lot, but it was still dry and kind of bland. I think we would have liked it better with some alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I thought this was very good. I roasted the cauliflower, onion, broccoli and garlic (5 cloves) in the oven with olive oil and then tossed with the pasta. I left out the additional garlic powder and used lots of freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Add 2 heaping teaspoons of tomatoe paste to give it more color ans 1/2 teaspoons of red chilli flakes to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States