Pasta and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Absolutely YUMMY!!! Great dish for Winter or Summer. So simple, yet so DELISH!! Even my kids liked it! Gotta LOVE that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I doubled this recipe and took it in a casserole dish to a pot luck. Everyone loved it, including my husband! The hardest part was finding the beans, but it was worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! I love Italian cooking and cuisine and cook it often. This was a simple, yet delicious and satisfying meal. I doubled the entire recipe to make sure I'd have a lot of leftovers. I also added some crushed red peppers in the sautee'ing process since I like food with a little kick. This was wonderful! Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I tried this recipe last night and my kids said it was a keeper. The only thing I did different was to saute a little garlic with the onion because we LOVE garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I made this for friends one night and everyone loved it. Easy but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This was really good - and fast! I added lots of salt, and next time I'll saute some garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Sometimes it's just about getting down to the basics, and like what others said, using what you have on hand. This recipe suits all of the above - and is wide open to so many other additions. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Yummy! Easy to make and delicious. I made some very minor changes, but the original recipe was good. I sauteed the onion and then added about 7 or so cloves of minced garlic. I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil before adding the tomatoes to bring out the spices. I chopped one tomato and added two cans of tomatoes with garlic, basil, and onion and 2 cans of beans. I used whole wheat elbow pasta although penne would have been perfect. When the pasta was ready, I threw in a bag of baby spinach and shut the heat off. I took about about 1/2 cup of the cooking water and added it to the beans. Drained the pasta, threw it in the pot with the tomatoes and beans and combined. Fantastic and although I doubled the recipe and added a few changes, it was a delicious vegetarian meal that even the meat eaters loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I took some of the suggestions in the previous reviews and made this work for me. The fresh tomatoes made this authentic. This was a great, hearty winter day meal. I had it with a big salad. My results didn't look anything like the posted photo. Having lived in Italy for two years, I learned two things: buy quality olive oil and don't overcook the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is delicious as written. Not all Italian dishes are seasoned with basil and oregano. You certainly can add any spice you want, but this dish is great as written. I seasoned "to taste" with salt, as the recipe directed, but then put black pepper and parmesan on the table so this could be added. Definitely a kid-friendly dish. Make sure to use fresh tomatoes, not canned. Cook the pasta in some salted water, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States