Pasta and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
After reading the instructions on this dish, I thought it needed a little something more. I added italian seasoning while simmering, dropped in some spinach leaves once the simmering was complete (they wilt almost immediately w/ heat) & I included a few tablespoons pasta water (a tip I always see mentioned on the cooking shows). I thought it was tasty and will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was one of those nights where I desperately needed groceries but didn't want to go. So I searched for a recipe that contained ingredients I did have and "wa-la" Pasta and Beans it is! A good start for a side dish but here is what I added/changed. I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil, drained and rinsed beans, tossed in the beans and a can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings. Then I added the drained pasta (reserving a 1/4 cup pasta liquid) and tossed this all together. I sprinkled with a little extra olive oil, parm cheese, red pepper flakes and balsamic vinegar. I served it next to Herb Crusted Chicken and everyone ate it very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! I love Italian cooking and cuisine and cook it often. This was a simple, yet delicious and satisfying meal. I doubled the entire recipe to make sure I'd have a lot of leftovers. I also added some crushed red peppers in the sautee'ing process since I like food with a little kick. This was wonderful! Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Yummy! Easy to make and delicious. I made some very minor changes, but the original recipe was good. I sauteed the onion and then added about 7 or so cloves of minced garlic. I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil before adding the tomatoes to bring out the spices. I chopped one tomato and added two cans of tomatoes with garlic, basil, and onion and 2 cans of beans. I used whole wheat elbow pasta although penne would have been perfect. When the pasta was ready, I threw in a bag of baby spinach and shut the heat off. I took about about 1/2 cup of the cooking water and added it to the beans. Drained the pasta, threw it in the pot with the tomatoes and beans and combined. Fantastic and although I doubled the recipe and added a few changes, it was a delicious vegetarian meal that even the meat eaters loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is delicious as written. Not all Italian dishes are seasoned with basil and oregano. You certainly can add any spice you want, but this dish is great as written. I seasoned "to taste" with salt, as the recipe directed, but then put black pepper and parmesan on the table so this could be added. Definitely a kid-friendly dish. Make sure to use fresh tomatoes, not canned. Cook the pasta in some salted water, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Simple, healthy, but lacking something. I have used a similar recipe that adds, garlic, lemon and sage. It is much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I liked this recipe....but I felt like it was a little bland..so the second time I made it I took some of the suggestions of the other reviewers...like adding spinach and parm and a little more seasonings...but this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Good but very basic recipe, so adding your own twist is needed. I added garlic to the sauted onions, as others had suggested. I also added cumin, chili powder, and crushed pepper, along with the corn cut from a leftover cob. I used pinto beans (all I had, and I drained them first), and added one 15 oz. can of peeled tomatoes. I served it with whole grain penne, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I doubled this recipe and took it in a casserole dish to a pot luck. Everyone loved it, including my husband! The hardest part was finding the beans, but it was worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was a great, quick meal with things I had on hand. I used dried minced onion instead of a fresh onion, and fresh grape tomatoes instead of canned, and threw in a few cloves of minced garlic. My 6 year old ate 2 bowls of it and even the 2 year old loved it! It's not the best thing ever but it's fast, cheap, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States