Pasta and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Good basic recipe for when you are in a pinch and can't make it to the store or are low on funds. Please doctor it up and add spices, or cheese, it needs something to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was one of those nights where I desperately needed groceries but didn't want to go. So I searched for a recipe that contained ingredients I did have and "wa-la" Pasta and Beans it is! A good start for a side dish but here is what I added/changed. I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil, drained and rinsed beans, tossed in the beans and a can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings. Then I added the drained pasta (reserving a 1/4 cup pasta liquid) and tossed this all together. I sprinkled with a little extra olive oil, parm cheese, red pepper flakes and balsamic vinegar. I served it next to Herb Crusted Chicken and everyone ate it very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Simple, healthy, but lacking something. I have used a similar recipe that adds, garlic, lemon and sage. It is much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
After reading the instructions on this dish, I thought it needed a little something more. I added italian seasoning while simmering, dropped in some spinach leaves once the simmering was complete (they wilt almost immediately w/ heat) & I included a few tablespoons pasta water (a tip I always see mentioned on the cooking shows). I thought it was tasty and will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Good but very basic recipe, so adding your own twist is needed. I added garlic to the sauted onions, as others had suggested. I also added cumin, chili powder, and crushed pepper, along with the corn cut from a leftover cob. I used pinto beans (all I had, and I drained them first), and added one 15 oz. can of peeled tomatoes. I served it with whole grain penne, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was very bland. It does need extra spice. Also the beans went mushy, so don't cook them too long. If I were to do it again I definitely would take the advice of some other reviewers and add garlic and seasonings. Also, canned chopped tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano would be a good substitute for the tomotoes. I wonder if I was supposed to drain the beans. Usually you do, but this recipe doesn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe, however I did add more spice to it. To the oil and onions I added 2 gloves of garlic, finely chopped. When it was time to put in the beans I added some fresh ground black pepper, salt, and some of the "emeril lagase" seasoning, and crushed red pepper flakes. The beans provided a kind of "buttery" flavor, and the extra seasoning added more depth. I might make this again... Beano might need to be added in the next batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This recipe was blech. It was too sour, and the beans and the pasta dont go well together. I would definitely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
this pasta dish was easy & tasted good. one addition i made was chopped a large clove of garlic & sauteed it in olive oil before adding the onions. thanks jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
It was good, but to make it even tastier. Sautee some bacon and crumble it up then add to mix, also add parsley, bay leaf and a splash of white wine. Red onion is also good to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States