Pasta and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I didn't wanna go out and go shopping, so I was looking for a recipe that called for stuff I already had in the pantry- this was it. I've never used cannellini beans before so I substituted them for pinto beans and added spices to the mix. I went a little overboard with the spices (sadly) so I didn't really like what I came out with. However, the next day, I smashed the beans and added a little bit of chedder cheese to the mix which calmed down the spices. It was fantastic!!! I will definitely make this again. A fairly healthy meal that is actually tasty is hard to come by nowadays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Nutritious, but very bland. I even like all the ingredients alone, and it still wasn't very flavorful. I even tried adding some fresh parsley, fresh garlic, and Parmesan, and it still was very meh until I salted it heavily. Perhaps it relies heavily on the salt from the canned beans to carry it? (I used dry beans I had cooked previously.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Great recipe if you are feeling too tired to cook (10 minutes! to a healthy tasty meal thats got a bit of everything - protein, carbs, veg). I think you could add a few things to your liking and make it even better - I added garlic, a pinch of cayenne pepper, oregano, and some black pepper - I think with some parmesan it would be good also but I was out of cheese! Thanks for saving my dinnertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I took some of the suggestions in the previous reviews and made this work for me. The fresh tomatoes made this authentic. This was a great, hearty winter day meal. I had it with a big salad. My results didn't look anything like the posted photo. Having lived in Italy for two years, I learned two things: buy quality olive oil and don't overcook the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used red kidney beans because it's all I had on hand -- would have been better, creamier and prettier with white beans though. While the recipe was good alone, next time I will add a small amount of tomato sauce to it as well as I prefer my noodles coated with sauce a bit more. I added some red pepper flakes to my serving (some spicy-food-haters in the household) and that sure took it up a notch! Might add some parm next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Yummy! Easy to make and delicious. I made some very minor changes, but the original recipe was good. I sauteed the onion and then added about 7 or so cloves of minced garlic. I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil before adding the tomatoes to bring out the spices. I chopped one tomato and added two cans of tomatoes with garlic, basil, and onion and 2 cans of beans. I used whole wheat elbow pasta although penne would have been perfect. When the pasta was ready, I threw in a bag of baby spinach and shut the heat off. I took about about 1/2 cup of the cooking water and added it to the beans. Drained the pasta, threw it in the pot with the tomatoes and beans and combined. Fantastic and although I doubled the recipe and added a few changes, it was a delicious vegetarian meal that even the meat eaters loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
good base recipe. i added a can of diced tomatos w/ garic. and some other seasoning. served as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I used this recipe as a springboard to use some ingredients I had on-hand when I returned home late one day and didn't have time to make the roast I had planned for dinner. I used 1 can canellini beans, 1 lg can diced tomatoes, 1 onion and a box of penne rigati pasta. I threw in some basil and garlic powder while it was cooking. My family enjoyed it but we agreed it was missing something, not sure what but I'll be playing around with this one again just because it was so quick, easy & fairly healthy I would assume. All in all, it saved the evening and we have enough left over for hubby to take for lunch tomorrow too. Thanks a bunch for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Arrigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was good. I think the two cups of pasta is the already cooked amount. I cooked two cups dry and it was way to much. I used a can of garlic and olive oil diced tomatoes in place of fresh. Served with parmesan cheese on top. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States