Pasta al Mediterraneo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This recipe is so quick and easy, but that does not prevent this from being a very very tasty dish. I make only a few, inexpensive modifications that result in an improved final product. 1. Instead of Starkist or Chicken of the Sea tuna, splurge on any brand of Tonno tuna. Tonno is yellowfin tuna canned in olive oil, and it is found in the same aisle as regular tuna. Yes, it is more expensive, but it is usually only about $1.50- $1.80 a can and the taste is WELL worth the extra money. After you eat tonno, you will never ever want to eat any other canned tuna. For best results, don't drain the oil off when you open the can; instead, flake the tuna and the oil together in a bowl before adding to the pasta. 2. Toast the pine nuts for about 4 minutes, and add them just before serving. Toasting really enhances the flavor of the nuts. 3. If you can, use fresh lemon juice and not the bottled juice. I am a huge fan of going the easy route, but not here. Bottled lemon juice really does not work so well with this recipe. If I don't have fresh lemons but do have bottled juice, I just leave the bottled juice out. That's how much I don't like it in this recipe. But the fresh lemon juice is really a great addition. 4. If you like salt a lot, add capers. Use wild capers, if you can find them. They are found in the same aisle as regular capers, and they cost about $1.50 more per jar, but they sure do have an amazing flavor that is perfect here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is delicious and a very adaptable recipe that can be changed up to suit your taste. I liked it cold and of course changed it up to what I liked more of which was the olives and I did add capers. I did use the feta cheese and tossed it with red wine vinegar instead of lemon juice and used an Italian blend of herbs instead of just basil because that is what I had. If you make this recipe as is or change it up according to your taste you can't go wrong. It's a great pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for. It was quick and easy. I am amazed how great it tastes. I used plain macaroni since thats all I had. I did add extra nuts afterwards since I felt they complimented well. I don't see how theres much more to alter. And its great hot or cold. Very versatile, can be served as a nice dinner entrée with a glass of wine, to potluck to a brown bag lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I loved this! It is so fresh and easy and perfect for lunch. I used fusilli pasta (1/2 the amount stated) and regular black olives (I find kalamatas too salty for my taste). Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. I rinsed the pasta in cold water when it was done cooking and served the dish cold. I think the flavors of all the ingredients are wonderful together. Be sure to toast the pine nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was certainly different! I used black olives instead of kalamata olives because we're not big fans of the kalamatas. I also used a little more feta cheese than what the recipe called for since we are cheese lovers! :) All in all the dish was good.....next time I think I'll add a little more lemon juice for taste and possibly some more garlic. We served it hot but ate the leftovers cold.....I think I like eating it cold better especially since the flavors had a chance to meld together over night. Great summer pasta dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
This recipe is amazing! I served it warm, and did double the feta and olives, and used less pasta (about 3/4 lb). I understand it was even better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was delicious. I used whole wheat pasta and half olive oil half margarine to make it a little healthier. I also used parmesan instead of feta and added salt and pepper at the table. I didn't care for the kalamata olives in this, so next time I will leave them out. I doubled the amount of garlic and still couldn't taste it, so next time I will quadruple it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This was great! You can also use shrimp that is quickly sauted in some oil and garlic instead of the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This dish was delicious and not hard to make at all. I don't often make the same recipe twice but I would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I added a little more olive oil than called for... turned out great. Served cold, by the way. Everyone loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States