Passover Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tzvi Schulman
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It was a great change from eating matzot. I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tzvi Schulman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The rolls came out pretty good considering it's made out of matzo meal which is not my favorite thing to eat. Next time I'll keep them on the oven for a few minutes less so they are a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is coming from someone who is not Jewish and has no knowledge of Kosher laws. This could use a bit of flavor such as honey or a bit of preserves, but otherwise it was nice. The eggs give it a texture that is a bit different from bread, so be prepared for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made these for breakfast today; I just tweaked it a bit. Since I was trying to finish up the rest of my matzos and didn't have any matzo meal, I just ground up some matzos in a food processor until they were very fine, which I suppose is the same thing as matzo meal. I replaced milk for water, added some dried fruit (raisins & cranberries), and pumpkin pie spice for flavor. After 45 minutes, I took them out of the oven (I actually used my toaster oven) and brushed the top with a honey glaze, then put them back in the oven for 5 more minutes. The texture and density was pretty good. They were quite bland in flavor though, so i'll make a note to add more spice, and be more generous with the honey glaze if I ever decide to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
They were ok. Kind of taste like baked matzo balls. For Passover, they get a passing grade, but not one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I wanted to have something to make a sandwhich with. After reading this recipe and other passover roll recipes, i took the advice of using 1 Tablespoon of Sugar. I also used a hamburger press to make flat rolls that i could slice in half like a sandwhich bun or bagel thin. It worked out great. A day later they are still moist in a zip lock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Not like "rolls" at all. I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These rolls are excellent. This year I made a batch with regular matzo meal and a batch with whole wheat and both were delicious! Very easy and quick. They will not be left over. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made these for our passover service and EVERYONE asked me for the recipe! They were great! I did add about 1/2 cup of honey to the water and oil while it was boiling. I think it gave it a litte better taste. I will def make these again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Just like I remember my grandmother's! Remember, these are gebrokts, so if you observe that restriction, you can't eat these until the last day of the holiday! You can cut the oil down to 1/4 cup; I usually use melted schmaltz because it tastes so good, and it's a once-a-year indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States