Passover (Pesach) Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My late mother handed down this recipe over 50 years ago-- and yes, it is the best! So good, that my non- Jewish friend uses it as her go to brownie recipe. One problem that I would like help with-- the top layer forms a crust and always crumbles-- almost separates from the moist insides-- not the prettiest brownie, while still delicious. Any ideas? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Super easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!! It was VERY EASY and everyone LOVED them!!!! They were SO MOIST and DELICIOUS!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Similar but better than Passover Brownies in Second Helpings Please. For easy removal, I greased pan & lined it with parchment paper, which I also greased. At 30 minutes, toothpick doesn't come out clean but the top is set & brownies are perfectly moist. Note: Cake meal is ground finer then regular matzo meal. You can make matzo cake meal by using blender to grind matzo meal into a fine powder. Strain to sift out any lumps. Brownies freeze well. If freezing, don't ice until defrosted. Optional Icing: In microwave, melt in 20 second intervals, 6 ozs. semi-sweet chocolate squares or chips, 1½ tbsps. margarine & 1/8 + 1/16 tsp. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellant. Make for Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This weekend I'll use this recipe as a 'base' for brownies that I want to make...I'll substitute the veg oil for blue band light olive oil baking product and put in pecans instead of walnuts end crush some eastern egs (chocolate) that I still have and put them in... Oh and I'll use wholeweat flour and yeast since I don't know what matzoh is and i want the brownies nice and fluffy...This was the first recipe I found that didn't require butter but oil and that's what I wanted. (I also tried to look op vegan brownies, but nothing there) I understand it's a Jewish recipe, hope you don't mind I'll tinker with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great! A hundred times better than the boxed mix. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good and fudgy. Took the advice and underbaked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
The best Passover brownies I have ever made. If you don't have cake meal you can use regular matza meal - the consistency will be a bit less smooth, but they will be great nonetheless - and won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very sweet. It also needs more than 30 minutes to bake otherwise it will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States