Passover Matzo Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Love this recipe. The result was a cheesy, vegetarian dish which everyone enjoyed. I did not have 4 eggs in the house so I used 3/4 cup of egg replacement. Also had only a 16 oz. carton of cottage cheese into which I mixed the leftover ricotta cheese (about 1/2 cup or 4 oz), I had on hand. I also used 7 Matzo sheets instead of 6 to make sure I covered all the layers. I wish I had taken a picture because it looked so good when it came out of the oven. Tasted even better after sitting for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a very good Passover lasagna with some minor modifications:) I browned and seasoned a 1 lb. of turkey meat and added that to two jars of sauce. I also seasoned the cheese mixture with basil, oregano, salt, and pepper. It came out more beautiful than a traditional lasagna. I will definitely be making this for future. Thank you for providing a base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this recipe for my chavurah (friends group). I hadn't tried it before, and was wary of how much cottage cheese vs shredded mozzarella. It was fantastic, and everyone loved it!! I need to use 1 1/2 pieced of matzah each level to fit a large casserole dish; this worked perfectly. Also need more marinara sauce, about 1/2 more jar. I will use this recipe forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Perfect for vegetarians at Seder! Not very traditional, but it was excellent. I scaled down the recipe and served it last Passover and everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this recipe today. I did add some sauteed mushrooms. Also, I added garlic, oregano,and pepper to the cheese/eggs mixture. Overall great recipe. All of my family loved it..could not believe that it is made out of Matzo. Thanks so much and Happy Passover !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Excellent! Didn't taste like passover at all! I am a cheese freak and added 8oz of cheddar to the top as well as a can of mushrooms. The matza is surprisingly like a noodle. Very very good. Will be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Terrific! My girlfriend was confounded and asked me if it was actual lasagna and I was slipping her chametz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This turned out great! I loved the cottage cheese and mozzarella combo and was thrilled (and a bit surprised) by how tender the matzo got. As a little bonus, I sauteed some spinach and garlic and added it on top of the cheese layers just to add a little vegetable. It was a hit, not only with my vegetarian seder guest, but with the whole crowd. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outcastspice
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was a great recipe. I slightly modified it - three eggs instead of four, and less cottage cheese than called for, and that didn't cause problems. I also added sliced zucchini in each layer. I will say it was a bit bland, salt & pepper and/or other spices are helpful here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorics
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very yummy! The hubby loved it also will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States