Passover Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent concept for a Passover cookie, but needs considerable tweaking. Many almond macaroon recipes say to bake on greased parchment--solves the sticking problem. I like grinding 1 c. blanched almonds (not sure what the weight is) w/ 1/2 c. sugar in food processor and mixing w/ 1 egg white. Another option that doesn't need parchment is to make a crust by mixing 1c. finely ground almonds, 1/4 c. light brown sugar, & 1/3 c. melted margarine, and press into baking dish. Both types are baked for 10 min. at 350 deg.. Different lemon bar recipes vary widely in the proportions of the ingredients, but, on average, for 6 eggs they call for the juice & grated zest of 6 lemons, 2 c. of sugar, and 1/3 c. flour (translating into 1/4 or 1/3 c. potato starch). Potato starch is just a slightly stronger thickener than ap flour. The filling is baked at around 325 deg. for approx. 35 min.. Despite the flaws, I appreciate the suggestion to make lemon bars for Passover. I love them, and would never have thought to make them for the holiday myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
What a disaster! Baked too hot, eggy soupy topping. Could not cut or get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Not worth the trouble. As written it is too much work and does not come out. The crust stuck to the pan all 3 times I tried. I suggest you cut the oven temp. and the amount of sugar you use. Try a 350 oven and only 2 cups of sugar. Be sure to grease the pan, too. I might try another time just because I'm stubborn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
We followed this recipe exactly in my foods II class & it just smelled eggy. The topping stayed a liquid which just boiled in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Taste was good but they didn't turn out texture wise -- crust burned so I took them out, but were undercooked. I like the idea and might try again with some of the suggested modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I am unsure what type of oven was used originally 400 is way too hot. I tried this recipe 3 times to finally get it right! The crust burnt in 10 minutes at 400. So did the topping/filling. Tried 350 seemed to be okay. But everything was stuck and came out yucky. Definately reduce sugar to 2 cups and grease the pan if you actually want them to come out of the pan. Do not use the parchment trick as the filling is so thin it seeps under. Not bad taste for a Passover dessert but what a waste of time and ingredients if your information is incorrect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Probably the best Passover dessert I ever made--doesn't "taste like Pesach" at all. I made it even lighter by by using 2 cups sugar, 1 cup splenda for the lemon portion. Will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was definitely interesting, although it was more like a lemon pie than bars. The crust was a good, chewy texture, and the filling was OK, but a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States