Passover Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
What an awesome dessert! I made it in an 11" torte pan and glazed it with a chocolate glaze that I found on this site ("Satiny Chocolate Glaze"). After glazing, I cut the torte into 12 slices (next time I will make 16 slices) and put half a large strawberry, cut side down, on each slice by the outer edge. My book club gals loved it and everyone wanted the recipe!!! This is an easy winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is a truly delicious cake, Passover or not! I am as intense a chocoholic as they come and this cake has now become my favorite, bar none. I made it last night and I got scared towards the end of the baking time because the top looked dried out, so I took it out about 7 minutes shy of what the recipe called for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. It turns out I should have trusted the recipe, because the center was more than gooey, it was undercooked. However... that is not the end of the story. My husband and I both had a piece while it was still warm, we couldn't resist after smelling it baking! As described above, the center was hot and very gooey, too gooey, actually, but towards the outer edge it became incredible... dense and moist and chocolatey.... perfect, in fact. I put it in the refrigerator overnight and today it is FABULOUS... even the undercooked inside is now more like the inside of a truffle, and then it gets cakier towards the outside. I am baking another one tonight and will follow the recommended baking time religiously... otherwise, I won't change a thing. I used my coffee grinder to grind the sliced almonds my husband brought home from the store, so, if you're wondering how to grind your almonds, that worked perfectly for me. Turned the almonds into a fine-textured meal, almost like flour. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a rich, decadent and VERY chocolatey dessert. It will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
fast, easy, delicious! we topped with confectioner's sugar and raspberries. tasted even better after chilling in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I'm not sure what happened...i followed the directions exactly but when the torte was done, it was flat like a pancake and fell apart...I baked it in an 8" springform pan...any ideas? it tasted okay, but it wasnt in any shape to be served
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was just fantastic, much better than any other dessert at our passover party! It didn't last 5 minutes before it had totally disappeared. I didn't frost it, and it was so rich and chocolatey on its own, I was glad that I left it "natural." Thank you Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was such a hit at passover. I did use the chocolate glaze that others recommended, I think that made it look beautiful. Next time I will serve with berries on the side, esp raspberries or strawberries. I made it in a 9 inch round pan, still using the foil, and the Pam spray with flour and it worked great. I also roasted some raw almonds and ground them in my Magic Bullet. I was even asked to make it for shabbat the next week. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maunaloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
If I could put 10 stars it would still be too little. Leah, what an amazing receipe! So easy to make and so divinly mouthwatering to taste. You were right! There was not a piece left (shame for me running around seder and not getting any!) Thank you ... Chag Samaech
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I made this for my seder and found my son (who loathes deserts)taking a second helping. A definite winner and one I will make time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Delicious and gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Excellent! Perfect for Passover and my gluten-free daughter! The only down side is it is very high in calories, and I have trouble staying away from it...Plus it's best with no glaze, but heated and served ala mode! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom-of-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States